Mac Mini as an HTPC ? (apple newbie)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by karnalta, May 17, 2013.

  1. karnalta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    #1
    Hi all,

    I don't have any Mac computer yet, I only have a iPad 2 and I am really happy of that Apple product.

    So I was thinking of replacing my heavy Windows HTPC tower with one of these ultra sexy Mac Mini, but considering it's running under OSX and that I really don't know it, I have some questions.

    - Would it be possible to run it as a "real" HTPC ? I mean turn it up and automatically end up into a specific media manager interface after OSX start up ? Like Media Browser for windows.

    - Does it exist HTPC software for OSX ?

    - Is it possible to control the "HTPC software" without having to use the keyboard and mouse. With a remote control by example ?

    Thank a lot for your help.
     
  2. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #2
    It's very popular for that, mainly because of its size and quietness. IR remote control is built into every current Mac, although they don't come with the actual remote device anymore. Plenty of things to read here or other places. Some software to look up: Plex. XBMC. EyeTV.
     
  3. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #3
    You can run windows in boot camp and get the mini to boot into it. So you have your sexy mac mini but it runs windows.

    I think you will like OS X better though.
     
  4. blanka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #4
    Yes,
    Any of the 2009 and later mini's will do everything needed for HTPC. The 2009/2010 models allow internal DVD playback, and with a simple mod, even BR playback.
    Just install XBMC, it will allow remote control support, and plays everything efficient (best 1080p support with low CPU use IMO).
     
  5. UG.Frontera macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    I brought one yesterday for this reason. I use XBMC as I didn't like the install for Plex, I've also brought Fusion 5 for my servers I need for studying. Going to upgrade to 16gb though as 4gb isn't enough.
     
  6. tmanto02 macrumors 65816

    tmanto02

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Plex, sickbeard, CouchPotato, transmission, harmony remote= ultimate HTMM
     

Share This Page