mac mini broadcast wifi?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ClutchThese, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #1
    Does the mac mini broadcast wifi? or do i still need the airport extreme to broadcast the network?

    or should i buy the mac mini server?
     
  2. iDave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    #2
    The mini has built in wireless. What are you wanting to do? I don't understand the question.
     
  3. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    You can use Internet sharing on the minis wifi .
     
  4. ClutchThese thread starter macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #4
    the question i want to have answered is... can the mac mini do the same thing as the airport extreme?

    Like, can the mac mini plug into my cable modem and broadcast wifi and have all my devices connect to it. I'd like to get rid of my linksys router as it keeps messing up.
     
  5. iDave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    #5
    As Peace said, the mini can be set up to do internet sharing. There are benefits to the AE Base Station such as a hardware Firewall. I don't have enough experience to answer in more detail but I don't think you'd want to share your internet connection with more than one additional computer.
     
  6. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #6
    It looks like you can have ethernet and wifi turned on at the same time.

    Here's how to do it. But like Dave said you're going to not have that hardware based firewall. It might be better just to get a airport extreme base station.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #7
    The Mini does not broadcast wifi, it uses wifi to communicate like all macs. If you want a wifi setup you need airports, or the Time Capsule that can broadcast up to 2 different wifi networks simultaneously.

    IMHO, both the Mini client or server use your wifi connection, they don't create it. You even need a switch to setup a small in house network over ethernet, but then that's not wifi.

    I use my Time Capsule as my wifi main broadcast hub and all 5 macs and a printer use this wifi setup that the Time Capsule broadcasts.
     
  8. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #8
    I must be delusional, but I use the airport in my macs to CREATE and BROADCAST wifi networks all the time.

    Most of the time I'm using my 3g data card connected to my laptop, and I need another device to be able to use that data connection via wifi. I create an airport network and share the data card with the other devices.

    It's very simple to create a wifi network with a mac.

    It would be a better idea if your thinking of creating a more permanent wifi network to use a wireless router of some sort. A replacement of your Linksys router shouldn't cost more than $50 or so (unless you buy the Apple router, then quadruple your budget)...

    cable modem -> wireless router -> devices
     
  9. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #9
    Sorry, I must be delusional. Just never thought my mini could create a wifi network on its own without additional hardware, like the Airport Extreme as the OP asked in clarification remarks.

    Hey, any specific thoughts on how to do that on a mini since I would like to do it and get rid of external hardware myself?

    Thanks for your input!
     
  10. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #10
    As long as the mini is receiving it's internet from somewhere other than the airport (I don't think you can receive from the airport and share to the airport at the same time), just click on the airport menu bar icon and hit "create network".

    After you've created whatever sort of network you want (name, channel, security), go to system preferences and then sharing. Turn on internet sharing (choosing where the internet is coming into the mac and what port the mac should share to).

    Pretty darn easy.

    This is also how, when you go to trade shows or conferences and everyone is using their mac, you end up with wifi networks that have the names "is it over yet","this speaker stinks", or "someone pull the fire alarm to make it end".
     
  11. ClutchThese thread starter macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #11
    all,

    Thanks a bunch for the input. I decided to get the airport extreme. I bought it and installed it today. It works great, and is much quicker than my linksys was. I decided against the mac mini due to it having to constantly stay on.
     
  12. EARL97850 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #12
    There is a power button isn't there?

    Cya
     
  13. iVoid macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #13
    He means that if he used the mini as a airport base station, he couldn't turn it off of the wireless network would go down.
     
  14. EARL97850 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #14
    Oh, I see now. My bad.

    I wonder how much more power it would take than the when it's in the normal "sleep" or "stand by" mode?

    Cya
     
  15. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #15
    About 10W. Not very much and probably the same as an Airport Extreme Base Station. The base station has a much stronger signal than the mini, however, and is substantially cheaper.
     
  16. EARL97850 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #16
    You beat me to the punch on the price. I just compared them price wise.

    Cya
     
  17. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #17
    huh? since when you can use the mini to broadcast Wi-Fi?! you mean if my DSL modem is connected to the Mini and i "created" wi-fi on the mini then that's enough for other mac in the room to log on to the internet and enough to stream to Apple TV?:confused:
     
  18. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #18
    Absolutely. I have usable signal at least 50ft (inside) from my mini.
     
  19. mr.steevo macrumors 65816

    mr.steevo

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #19
    HI,

    This ability has been built into OS X for some time now. I recall a blogger 5 or 6 years ago writing about being at a conference and the wireless router konking out in the room he was in. He connected the ethernet cable to his iBook and used the iBook to transmit wireless signal to the rest of the users in the room.

    Of course he became a local legend.

    s.
     
  20. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #20
    are u serious? this is really odd.and u think the speed of streaming will be the same using Time Capsule? is this feature available on all Macs?

    can you explain how to do it again?
     

Share This Page