Mac mini c2d 1.83 ghz wont handle leopard good?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by paetrick, Oct 14, 2007.

  1. paetrick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I'm just wondring, the 9A559 version of the leopard beta runs very "slow" on a 1.83 ghz. Both coverflow and minimize of windows is a bit "laggy" but this runs very smooth on tiger. <- will it be like this on the final version as well?

    I mean, I really hope apple hasn't done a "vista" operatingsystem, where it only runs smooth on _very_ good systems. (Leopard will just run smooth on mac pro's and macbook pro's ?

    My question is: Will leopard get a HUGE update in performance before it is released or will it be like the 9A559 version with some bug issues fixed?, if so I would say it's not what you want on a mac mini or a macbook if you want a smooth OS.
     
  2. ryannel2003 macrumors 68000

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #2
    I would think that your Mac mini could handle Leopard quite easily. Apple usually does a better job of optimizing the final version before they release it. It also depends on how much RAM your mini has? I know that if I tried putting Leopard on my mini it would run extremely slow since I only have 512MB. I know others here will give you a better idea since they know more about it; but I hope that gives you a little bit of an idea.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Once again, I'd be concerned about the performance of the GMA 950.
     
  4. jonkemerer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #4
    Well this kinda sucks, this is the model I was planning to buy, with a 24" screen. Hmmmm... maybe the Mini isn't going to be a wise investment after all.
     
  5. jabbawok macrumors regular

    jabbawok

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #5
    How much RAM is in your mini? less than a gig and it's going to suck.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I have 2 GB of RAM in my Mac mini.

    I find its Exposé and Finder performance to be sluggish at times due to the lack of bandwidth for the video subsystem.
     
  7. MacinDoc macrumors 68020

    MacinDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #7
    Would Apple really shoot itself in the foot by releasing an OS that worked poorly on the majority of machines it currently sells (isn't the MacBook the top selling Mac)? Even current MacBooks still have the GMA950.

    There must be a way to improve performance on a machine with integrated graphics. Can you turn off some of the eye candy?
     
  8. maninthemoon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #8
    Which mini do you have and which operating system are you using?

    I have a G4 1.42 mini 512 Ram running Tiger. I would like to have more memeory but it runs the OS acceptably. I can't imagine the a 1.83 C2D is with 2GB ram is going to have a problem with 10.6. If so 10.6 is bloated. And Apples hardware choices suck.
     
  9. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    I can't see Apple releasing an OS that wont work well in all of their machines .. :)

    After all Tiger works fine with G3 machines.
     
  10. Kashchei macrumors 65816

    Kashchei

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Meat Space
    #10
    I just bought the 1.83 Ghz mini with 2 GB of RAM and I haven't noticed any lag in either Exposé or Dashboard. On the other hand, I am greatly disappointed in the GM950's ability to playback movies I had imported into iTunes (pixellated video with jerky playback). I can't imagine that there will be terrible performance for general OS functions in Leopard, but video playback with the GM950, regardless of machine, will be subpar IMHO. Just my two cents.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    The a Mac mini 1.83 GHz Core Duo running 10.4.10.

    Until you use Exposé or open a new Finder window.

    Quartz Extreme is a must nowadays.

    I wouldn't use iTunes for playback.
     
  12. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #12
    Are they HD movies in 1080p? Could be the video encoding rather than the playback. I have no problems playing back 720p or lower res.
     
  13. paetrick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #13
    Then i guess that apple have a much to do before 26th, because its much to improve for a smooth performance.

    And as u guys said above / if the graphics cant handle 10.5 then too bad for all the macbook users as its the best selling mac. I guess Apple will fail if so !
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    1080p works fine for me in Quicktime or VLC.

    It just doesn't in iTunes.

    VLC works like a dream on my G3 but I can barely get a few frames a second Quicktime.
     
  15. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #15
    I've got exactly the same set up as yours with 2GB of RAM.

    I have no performance problems at all with Exposé or opening new Finder windows :confused:
     
  16. paetrick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #16
    oH, the performance in Tiger is great, I can run both high bitrate 720ps on my HDTV as well as some 1080p movies *mkv.

    I really dont need leopard as im using my mac mini as a htpc and its working great atm, but i want leopard because its a beautiful OS. But if its not going to be as smooth as tiger, I wont buy it.

    The beta was really slow !
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    It might be the NFS mounting home directories.

    I never saw this issue on my old Power Mac G4 running dual 17" LCDs on a Radeon 9000.

    Even when accessing the local disk in Finder there can be a noticeable delay.
     
  18. paetrick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #18
    I guess hes talking about leopard, not tiger...
     
  19. Kashchei macrumors 65816

    Kashchei

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Meat Space
    #19
    They are actually clips I downloaded that seems to be MPEG1 Muxed at 320x240. If my mini can actually play video without the problems I've been having I'll be ecstatic! Of course, I just saw Don't Hurt Me's post about this machine being EOLed. Damn my timing!
     
  20. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #20
    Mine open up instantaneously. The external discs do take a bit longer if they need waking up, but that is the same on my MBP.
     
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    How many applications are you running?
     
  22. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #22
    Mail, Safari, iTunes, iPhoto, Photoshop Elements & Transmission.

    It's been up and running for 16 days, if that makes any difference.
     
  23. ~J~ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #23
    I've got a Mini 1.83 CoreDuo w/2GB RAM... it runs Tiger as well as my 2.33 MBP w/2GB for basic OS functions. Of course, any photo or video work is done on my MBP (the Mini wont even run Aperture or Final Cut), but I've never had a problem with the Mini playing back movies in iTunes or Quicktime (up to 720p). I would certainly agree that the GMA950 isnt going to make Leopard purr really nice... but it shouldnt have a problem running it rather smoothly (with upgraded RAM).
     
  24. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #24
    Gee, my 1.66 Mini runs Aperture. Not as fast as a MBP would, but it certainly runs it. Problem with yours?
     
  25. iHerzeleid macrumors 6502a

    iHerzeleid

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #25
    you probably just installed it wrong. leopard flies on my core duo 1.66 mac mini
     

Share This Page