Mac Mini + CS3 Premium

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by tMac85, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. tMac85 macrumors 65816

    tMac85

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    in a great place
    #1
    Ok I have a MBP and a Mini. I would like to put CS3 indesign, PS, AI, and Dreamweaver. on Both. My mini has 1GB ram. not looking to upgrade.
    questions...

    1. Is it possible to load on to more than one computer.
    2. Can the mini handle it.

    I will not be using more than one of those at one time on the mini. Usually just AI by itself. I will use CS3 on the MBP most of the time. mini just when im home and want a desktop. Thanks

    Thoughts and suggestions.
     
  2. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    1. Yes, it is possible. Possible ≠ Legal
    2. Of course it can, why wouldn't it? But you want more memory than that for best performance.
     
  3. tMac85 thread starter macrumors 65816

    tMac85

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    in a great place
    #3
    Ok this i dont understand. if they are both my computers, both used for editing, both for MY personal use, i dont see why its bad to put the software on both. I mean if i pay $1000 bucks for software im gonna put it on both computers if the specifications of the computer allow me to. :mad::D

    do you all buy TWO sets of the same software for your desktop and laptop?
     
  4. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    These are really issues you should address to Adobe, not us. We're not making up the rules.
     
  5. SubaruNation555 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington, VA USA
    #5
    My version of CS3 has two licenses and I installed it on two computers. Is this not true for other Adobe software?
     
  6. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #7
    Adobe lets you install their software on two machines provided you don't use them at the same time. They just make you "promise" but they don't have any way to stop you from using them simultaneously.

    As for whether or not it can handle it, 1GB is the minimum RAM requirement. I think you'll be miserable because it will be incredibly slow.
     
  7. errol macrumors 6502

    errol

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #8
    To answer your original question, is your mini an intel machine? CD or C2D?

    To run the CS3 suite, I would recommend a C2D and 3gb of RAM (1x2gb, 1x1gb chip).
     
  8. bacaramac macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #9
    I have no issues running on Mac Mini C2D with 2.0Ghz with 1GB Ram. Although I do not use it that much.
     
  9. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #10
    Should run it fine but max out your ram to ensure maximum speed.
     
  10. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA

Share This Page