Mac Mini/Digital Out

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by getbigg21, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. getbigg21 Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    #1
    So I have the newest Mac Mini that I am using as a HTPC. I purchased a tos-link cable from monoprice to route the sound into my Denon receiver and then I would have surround sound. Thing is, I have done everything but it won't work. It does show the red light at the end of the cable. I have also tried a normal stereo cable to see if the port is bad and it works, but obviously I don't have the 5.1 surround sound. Any ideas?
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    Have you messed with your sound preferences? What application are you trying to send 5.1 out through? I had a similar issue with Plex but it was due to not having configured Plex properly.
     
  3. getbigg21 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    #3
    Well first I tried YouTube. After that I opened up Plex and put a movie on, but no sound.
     
  4. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #4
    Are you using a mini-toslink cable from your Mac Mini? Something like this (note the adapter)?
     
  5. getbigg21 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    #5
  6. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #6
    Can you post a screenshot of your "Sound" preference pane, more specifically the "Output" tab?
     
  7. getbigg21 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    #7
    not home right now. under the "Sound" preference pane it shows Digital Output and the sound bar is greyed out.
     
  8. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #8
    No problem. That's how it should be.

    Not sure what the issue could be at this point. Are you able to test another device with the cable and receiver? Then you could rule out those two things. Then either your port would be bad or possibly a software configuration issue outside of system preferences.
     
  9. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #9
    also it could be your receiver, i have the option in mine to have either optical or analog inputs for the different sources, since it only has 3 optical inputs, i can rotate them around, so depending on my settings, DVD optical could be input 1, 2, or 3
     
  10. getbigg21 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    #10
    yeah mine does also. i have 3 optical inputs and 2 outputs on mine. i used 1 of the 3 inputs and made sure to change the setting on the receive to acknowledge this.
     

Share This Page