Mac Mini display help

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by cisco697, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. cisco697 macrumors newbie

    cisco697

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    #1
    o I just bought my new mac mini 2.53 C2D. And I love it! I have eye tv 3 hooked up and it runs flawless. I tested it all out with my imac to make sure that my wife could use it and would ok the purchase.

    The only thing I am kinda sad about is the fact that the display does not fill the screen without overscan on. But if I have overscan on the top bar does not show.

    I new about this with my imac but was reassured it was because my imac was 16X10 and that the mac mini would not have that problem. I have a samsung DLP that only does 720p which I am fine with.

    Any Ideas to fill the screen? Also 1080i is an option but the screen looks shakey???? Or know of a thread that might help.

    FYI I am using HDMI
    __________________
     
  2. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    Were you extending or mirroring the iMac's display? I would try extending so that the 16:10 vs 16:9 issues aren't a factor.

    Make sure you select an appropriate resolution ... I would try 1280x720p if available. I'm pretty sure your Sammy DLP has an actual resolution of 1280x720 (vs. 1366x768 that many LCDs/Plasmas have).

    Also make sure you have the correct overscan setting on the TV. I think Sammy calls their zero-overscan mode as "JUST".
     
  3. cisco697 thread starter macrumors newbie

    cisco697

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    #3
    So let me get this straight I need to fix the settings on my sammy as well as on the mac mini. I think I only had a few options when I went into Display preferences. Let me check it out....
     
  4. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #4
    It is typical to have to adjust settings on the Mac and the TV. Most TVs default to a view setting that is overscanned. You need to use a zero-overscan mode, in conjunction with the proper output on the Mac.

    In short, the Mac needs to output a compatible resolution, usually 1080i/p or 720p. The TV needs to take every single pixel that it receives and map that to the pixels of the TV.

    If the TV doesn't have a zero-overscan mode, you'll need to adjust the Mac so that it sends out a resolution smaller than 1080i/p or 720p so that when the TV overscans, all of your desktop shows on screen.

    The first thing you need to check is that you're sending out a 16:9 screen (use desktop extending).

    ft

    Check out this LINK. About halfway down, there's a blurb about using the PC input and "JUST SCAN". Seems like Sammy DLPs will always have a bit of overscan.

    I think you'll need to find the best combination of settings on the Mac (which is basically the Overscan button) and settings/inputs on the Sammy. Either that, or you can play with DisplayResX.
     

Share This Page