Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

moondogstuff

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 23, 2013
Thanks for reading this first of all, I'm new here!

I'm a musician looking to get a mac to record and mix/edit music. I would like to be able to easily record and mix 20 tracks. I am a pc user currently, So I am unfamiliar with Mac specs and lingo... sorry! I do not have any software for it, as in the past I used Session's software. I would consider myself a serious hobbyist, so I would like to get something that will handle my needs, yet isn't budget heavy.

Would a Mac Mini i7 do the job well? I do not need to be portable. I have monitors, but am unsure if they work with a mac since they are pc monitors? Or would it just be lackluster in performance, so I should just save up for a Imac?

Any help is appreciated. I want to pull the trigger on something, but I really am lost in mac world :(

moondogstuff

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 23, 2013
thanks for the info, i'll check it out. It seems so daunting! The whole...pc to mac change...

RCAFBrat

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2013
Montreal, QC
My son and I played with Final Cut Pro X (very capable video editing program) on a base model 21.5" iMac in the Apple store - it was fantastic compared to his old HP laptop but we upgraded to the i7 and 16GB RAM when we ordered it (not shipped yet) since the extra threads will provide for much faster rendering times and the iMac is really tough to upgrade on your own. He is taking video production courses in school so I figure the upgrades are worth it in the long run.

With respect to audio mixing, I have no idea if the i7 will make a difference. If you are on a budget (like my son), you may want to prioritize upgrades such as the extra RAM or a Fusion drive over the CPU if the i5 will do.