Mac Mini for Logic Pro

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by apfelmann, Dec 7, 2013.

  1. apfelmann macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    Hi,
    I currently own an iMac 24" C2D mid 2007 4GB RAM (boot SSD via FireWire) and a MBP 13" C2D mid 2009 8 GB RAM with 128GB SSD and 500GB HDD.

    The machines are running still very smooth overall, but I feel like I need more power for working with LOGIC PRO X. It lags sometimes ...

    what do you think?
    Is a quad core Mac mini with SSD and 16GB RAM a real leap forward for me when working with Logic Pro X?

    Greetings from Austria!
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    If you get a Mini, get at least the 2.3ghz i7 quad-core.

    I would order the "base version" with the internal 1tb HDD and 4gb RAM.

    If you don't want to open the new Mini's case to install an SSD internally, use either a USB3/SATA dock or an external enclosure and "boot externally", just as you're doing now with the iMac.

    In fact, I prefer the "external boot" solution in any case -- cheaper, faster, easier. You could even "move over" the firewire drive you're using now (although you'll have to update the OS on it).

    Add whatever RAM you need.

    You might experiment first to see if the Mini's internal HDD is fast enough to serve as your "data drive" (for your music projects). If it's not, you could just add another external.

    In that case, I would use the stock internal HDD for backups.
     
  3. apfelmann thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #3
    Thank you for the info!
     
  4. BigRed1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #4
    It was my understanding that Logic does not effectively utilize multiple cores, meaning that the quad core is not that big of a step up. If you are using large sample libraries, then maximizing RAM is the best solution. I don't know whether it's worth it - that would depend on how noticeable the slowdowns are. You can always freeze tracks. I wouldn't buy the current one with a new one around the corner (hopefully).
     
  5. fastlanephil, Dec 9, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2013

    fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #5
    I followed a thread on Gearslutz about Logic Pro 9 vs Logic X and Mountain Lion vs Mavericks.

    User's track counts are lower when using Logic X vs Logic 9 and also when using Mavericks vs Mountain Lion.

    It sure does look like raw CPU speed and maximum memory are the ticket.

    After that a master/slave setup.

    I'll probably go for the 2.6 i7/Fusion for resale value.
     
  6. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #6
    An i7 MacMini makes for a very fine music making computer.
    I use Logic X (and 9) plus Reason 7 on mine.
     
  7. BigRed1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #7
    Does Logic 9 support a master/slave setup? I may to try that!
     
  8. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #8
    Sure, Logic Pro 9 and X. You can then use 32-bit sample libraries in Logic Pro X.

    I'll be using Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with my 2011 27" i5 iMac and a just ordered 2.6 i7 Fusion drive Mac Mini. I'll be doing this while also using the iMac's display for the Mac Mini using Apple's Target Display Mode. The iMac will be the slave where my sample libraries reside and my DAW hosts will run on the Mac Mini. VSL recommends a separate hard drive for the slave OS but I'll wait and see how things go.

    If need be I'll either try to find someone local to install an SSD in my iMac for a reasonable price or just boot the OS from an external FW800 hard drive. Boxing(don't have my iMac box) up my iMac and shipping to OWC alone would run about $90.00.
     

Share This Page