Mac Mini Freezes at Booting 50%

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by MadcapLaughs79, Jun 15, 2015.

  1. MadcapLaughs79 macrumors newbie

    MadcapLaughs79

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #1
    I have a Mac Mini mid 2010 running Yosemite.

    When I power it on, the gray apple logo screen appears and the progress bar moves a third of the way then creeps to around 50% after 40 to 60 minutes.

    I tried to power on and use CMD R which did not take me anywhere other than the same screen.

    Tried holding Option and chose Recovery 10.10.3 drive. Same result.

    Tried choosing my external backup drive where Time Machine backups are located. It showed the apple screen then a Kernal Panic error displayed and rebooted.

    I'm at a loss of what to try and do.

    I attached a pic of the kernel error.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. steve217 macrumors regular

    steve217

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Location:
    NC
    #2
    Just a hunch, but unplug your external drive and then power on.
     
  3. MadcapLaughs79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MadcapLaughs79

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #3
    Tried that. Choosing either internal drive causes it to pause at 50% indefinitely.
     
  4. MadcapLaughs79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MadcapLaughs79

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #4
    When I try to boot holding CMD V I get the screenshot in black.
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    I can only speculate, but I suspect that one of the two following things has occurred:
    1) Your drive has been going bad, including sectors on the recovery partition, and that corruption propagated to your Time Machine backup. Try inserting a bootable DVD such as an OS X or Windows installation disc and see if it will boot from that.
    2) One of your memory sticks has failed. If you have two, try pulling one out. If you still have problems, try just the other stick.
     
  6. MadcapLaughs79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MadcapLaughs79

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #6

    Using a windows disc it is reading and displaying "windows is loading files" with a progress bar. Will it continue to try and load windows and error or will it actually bring me back to the Mac desktop?
     
  7. tentales macrumors 6502a

    tentales

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #7
    Have you tried zapping PRAM ? CMD-OPTION-P-R ?
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    I hope you're not installing Windows! I just wanted to see if another disk that wasn't your hard drive would boot, in order to rule out a hardware failure.

    It sounds like your hardware is fine but your boot disc is failing or has been corrupted.
     
  9. tentales macrumors 6502a

    tentales

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #9
    What do you mean "either internal drive" ? The mid-2010s came with 1 HDD & 1 SuperDrive, or do you have the server version ?
     
  10. MadcapLaughs79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MadcapLaughs79

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #10
    I have the server version. 2 500 gb drives.
     
  11. MadcapLaughs79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MadcapLaughs79

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #11
    I ran fsck from CMD S and it came back saying drive appears ok but also said the file system was modified so I ran it again and it came back saying ok.

    I tried rebooting and got the same issue of stalling at 50%.
     
  12. MadcapLaughs79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MadcapLaughs79

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #12
    Yes, it restarted but the same issue happened.
     
  13. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #13
    I know from experience, that a corrupt drive that is losing sectors will crash a Mac during boot as long as it is plugged in -- especially if it is the boot drive.

    Always had to unplug the bad drive, select another boot drive. Actually, use System Preferences/Startup Disk to select a new drive as startup. Make sure it works and boots, then either use a external case or find alternative spot to plug the drive back in internally. Then recover data from the drive.

    Went through this with a tower and an iMac -- both times really a pain to get the machine to boot, but I was able to do it and recover the data on the bad drives.

    However, the iMac was the only one time I actually got a SMART status failed alert to a bad drive, all the others tested out as fine -- but were failing and had bad sectors in drive scans.

    ---

    Common sense tells you that, I'm not booting from that drive, I'm using another drive to boot from -- but for some reason, as long as a bad drive is selected as "Startup Drive" it uses data from a bad drive during boot.
     
  14. MadcapLaughs79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MadcapLaughs79

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #14
    Thank you all for your help. I was able to get to the os x utility using a usb boot i found of Mavericks.

    Ran test of the Hd and it did have errors. I reinstalled Mavericks on the 2nd drive and it appears to be working. I will attempt to retrieve my files from the bad hd.
     
  15. tentales macrumors 6502a

    tentales

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #15
    Well, the good news is, single-user mode is working. I doubt it's your drives.
    Have you tried internet recovery ? Option-CMD-R ? If not, try it and tell us what happens.
    CMD-R tries to reboot from you local recovery partition only (if it exists)

    Are you running OS X Client or Server on it ?
    When was the last time it successfully booted ? Was there any change (new apps, upgrades, network drives) you did between the last successful boot and now ?

    A little more esoteric, but if you have any NFS drives mounted in your boot sequence and those drives or the network are not accessible, then it will hang on reboot.

    Check your router (with another device) if your Mac Mini's IP address appears and is pingable.
    Your screenshot appears to only show progress bar at 5% not 50, when in verbose mode can you post a screenshot of when it hangs for extended time ?

    That's all I can think of for now.
     
  16. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #16
    It sounds like that really came in handy! Perhaps I should make one for myself.
     

Share This Page