Mac Mini Graphics (?)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by alex.marton, Aug 10, 2015.

1. alex.marton, Aug 10, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015

alex.marton macrumors 6502

alex.marton

Hi All,

Am I going crazy or is there a 2011 Mac Mini, with an AMD Radeon HD 6630M graphics card? I've been reading on some game forums that there was a Mac Mini with that graphics card. I thought the only graphics card the Mac Mini came with in 2011 was the Intel HD Graphics 3000...

Thanks, Alex.

2. jerwin macrumors 68000

3. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

alex.marton

Thanks for that! :) Do you think it's worth it looking for these models, instead of getting the brand new ones? I'd use this Mac for very light gaming.

4. jerwin macrumors 68000

I've had no experience with the 6630M, sorry.

5. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

alex.marton

Oh okay, thank you! :)

6. richmlow macrumors regular

Hi alex.marton,

Yes, there is such a system...I have one and it runs quite well. =)

Here are my system specs:

Mac Mini (Mid 2011)
    2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
    8 GB RAM
    AMD Radeon HD 6630M (256 MB VRAM)
    OS X El Capitan 10.11 (Public Beta 4)

richmlow

7. richmlow macrumors regular

Hi alex.marton,

What sort of light gaming would you use the Mac Mini for? If you could be a bit more specific, I can give you some additional insight. =)

richmlow

8. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

MagicBoy

The current Iris equipped Mac mini's would at least equal the GPU performance of the 6630M. The Iris Pro in my rMBP is quicker then the full-fat 6750M in my old 2011 MBP.

9. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

alex.marton

Thanks. :) The game I would play is The Sims 4 (lol). That is basically the only game I actually play. With all the expansion and stuff packs.

10. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

alex.marton