Mac Mini in Dental office? (Vmware)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by jmpage2, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #1
    At my wife's dental office we currently run a large number of Dell Optiplex 755 workstations.

    Some of the challenges we have run into relate to the fact that due to the size of the towers we are forced to run them in enclosures with special cooling systems.

    My wife has a 17" MBP. She asked me if when we add her next patient operatory we could try a Mac instead of a Dell.

    I believe it should be possible to do this with a Mac Mini running VMWare 3 but I'm wondering about the video connections. One advantage of going this route is that the Mini is small enough to put in the main cabinet at the office, without having to run monster USB extensions, etc. Other advantages include that the Mini comes with slot loading disc player, etc. Not sure how it will do with heat buildup.

    Currently we run a primary DVI monitor for the clinical stuff and then have a VGA connected TV running 1440X900 resolution for showing patients movies, x-rays, patient education, etc.

    If I attempt to go this route what would be the best option for video? Should I ditch the VGA connection and run HDMI native to the TV? Would this be supported for the 1440X900 resolution we need for some of the applications or would we be better off staying with VGA despite the reduced video quality?
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Yes run HDMI. DVI to HDMI adapters are a few dollars.

    You can run the windows programs in either VMWare or windows.

    Mac Mini is great for its purpose, which is a small, quiet computer.
     
  3. srexy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #3
    Keeping it in a cupboard shouldn't be a problem. I have my HTPC mini stuffed in a cupboard along with all of my other HT components and yes it is hotter than optimum but unless you're really pushing the proc and video you shouldn't see temps that will threaten the lifespan of it.
     
  4. jmpage2 thread starter macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #4
    So we don't need to run full blown XP in order to run our dental software (which only runs on XP)? We can install XP under VMWare and then run the application in a "window" under VMWare in OSX?

    Thanks for all the great advice.
     
  5. raysfan81 macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5

    Actually at the orthodontist office I go to they have windows xp running in snow leopard in Parallels. I guess they needed the ortho software that only runs on windows. So Paralells is another option you could try. I personally haven't used it though.
     
  6. yayitsezekiel macrumors 6502a

    yayitsezekiel

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #6
    I like VMware better. Parallels is good but I just think that VMware runs better
     

Share This Page