Mac mini Kernel panic - help with solutions? Need this computer back!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mrmuse64, Dec 30, 2008.

1. mrmuse64 macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm a student at University and I've been using my Mac Mini (PPC) for all my work and stuff. Anyway about a week ago I was on the internet and out of nowhere the "you need to restart your computer hold the power button..." thing came up so I did what it said only to be confronted with a Kernel error which was something along the lines of this...

"Unable to find driver for this platform "Powermac 10,2"."

"Darwin Kernel version 8.11.0"

"Panic: We are hanging here"

I realise this is a problem many may have encountered but I just don't know how to solve it. I've tried most of the stuff I've read on forums but nothing seems to work... any help would be greatly appreciated since I can't afford to buy a new computer AND lose all my files.

(By the way I have the original OSX disks but I don't seem to be able to boot from them even if I hold "C". It just goes to the panic.

Harry :confused:

2. relimw macrumors 6502a

You didn't happen to be deleting files around the time it panic'd on you, were you?
    It sorta sounds like you may have deleted some system files.

Dunno why it won't boot from the install disks though, I suppose you could try a target disk mode to get your files off of it.

3. mrmuse64 thread starter macrumors newbie

not that I can remember.. was on the internet, msn and word but I think thats it.

whats target disk mode?

4. relimw macrumors 6502a

See this article for target disk mode. You might also try starting in single-user mode (hold S) and then type 'fsck' (no quotes) at the prompt, and see if that does anything for you, when it finishes, type 'exit'.

5. mrmuse64 thread starter macrumors newbie

ok the disk thing I can't do right now

single user mode didn't happen - just came up with the panic again

safe mode doesn't work either

>.<

appreciate the help though!