Mac Mini Maitenance Display

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by bh2os, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. bh2os macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #1
    Hi - I'm a NooB here who would like to set up a MacMini as a music server. I don't have any stray displays around (have an iMac and a PC notebook) Can someone point me to a display that is as small as possible to use. I envision using an iPad sometime but I haven't really thought that through all the way.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    TV? You can also administer the mini via Remote Desktop (aka VNC).
     
  3. bh2os thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #3
    Thanks that was quick!
    Right OK so it's not going to be in the TV room I so could use VNC from any computer and use Front row? Or an Apple remote? Can you use VNC from an iPhone/iPad? Sorry if I'm way off on this.

    Thanks
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Yes. VNC from a PC or Screen Sharing from a Mac (same thing really). Use the remote pointed at the mini and you should see front row pop up on the VNC client. iPhone and iPod touch both have VNC clients so you should be able to use that as well. Don't expect performance to be spectacular, however.
     
  5. bh2os thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #5
    Thanks again..perhaps it's best to have a really small display on the mini (touchscreen?) that i could walk up to and select a playlist or shuffle in itunes and walk away. But I guess the iPhone would be that display albeit slow.
     
  6. bh2os thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #6
    I'm catching up slowly. I just downloaded the Apple remote app to my iphone and that will work just fine for me once the rest is set up I think. And I can use the TV as a display when I need to update the library or whatever. Seems so easy. Now I just have to rip all the CDs!
     

Share This Page