Mac Mini (Mid-2010) Ram Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by k3roro, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. k3roro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    #1
    I tried searching up this question but could not find any results.

    I was watching the youtube video on the ram upgrading and I noticed that the person took out 2x 1GB ram pieces and put in 2x 2GB ram pieces.

    The ram I purchased is 1x 4GB piece and I am just wondering if there would be any drawbacks for using 1x 1GB and 1x 4GB in my set-up. I remember that for PC, it's best if the RAM is the same size/speed/manufacturer. My newly purchased ram is from OWC.

    Additionally, if I decide to only have 1x 4GB left in there, does it matter which slot I put it in? There are two slots that are empty and I'm not sure if there is a primary slot or secondary slot.

    Thanks.
     
  2. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #2
    From this page at Crucial.com:

    Q: Do I have to install matching pairs?

    A: No.


    No, you can install modules one at a time, and you can mix different densities of modules in your computer. But if your computer supports dual-channel memory configurations, you should install in identical pairs (preferably in kits) for optimal performance.

    Q: Does my computer support dual-channel memory?

    A: No.

    Your system does not support dual channel.

     
  3. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #3
    From the Apple mid-2010 Mini user guide, upgrading ram section: Your Mac mini has two memory slots in which you can install a pair of 1 GB, 2 GB, or 4 GB memory modules, for a maximum of 8 GB of memory. For best performance, don’t mix modules of different sizes; always install two identical memory modules.

    :confused:
     
  4. k3roro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    #4
    Haha, thanks.

    I actually removed my 2x 1GB ram and installed the 1x 4GB ram yesterday.

    I am guessing the slot that you install it doesn't matter, but I boot it in the back slot.

    My monitor should be arriving today so I will boot it up and see how it goes.
     
  5. Rapscallion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #5
    My 2010 mini shipped with 2 X 2gb modules of ram and I swapped one out for a 4gb module and it works great, it reports 6 gb of ram. However I'm not sure if there is a percentage increase in speed if both are the same size. Still Its a noticable difference in performace.
     
  6. speedwaygirl macrumors member

    speedwaygirl

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #6
    With the advice of several of the knowledgeable folks on here, I replaced one of my 1 GB factory sticks with a 4GB stick from OWC. So now my machine has 5 GB of RAM.

    It's nice to have a machine that doesn't require two matched sticks (unlike all the Dells that I have to support at the office). It's made a big difference when have iTunes, Office, Safari, and multiple windows open at the same time.

    Best $92 I've spent in a while!!!
     
  7. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #7
    Just upgraded mine with 2x4GB sticks. I can't believe what a difference it makes compared to the 2GB it came with. The Mini base config should be more than 2GB; it accesses the hdd a lot even only running Safari and iTunes! In stock form, 2GB ram and a 320GB hdd, it really isn't any faster than my old-long-in-the-tooth PowerMac. Especially the hdd which is waaay slower than my old raid 0 setup. I have a cloned momentus xt waiting to be installed!:)

    I popped for the big upgrade because I use a lot of apps at the same time and its common for two, sometimes three, users to be logged in at the same time.

    My advice is to only get what you think you may need and if there is any doubt then opt for a higher amount of ram to err on the safe side.
     
  8. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #8
    Pretty sure it supports dual channel, seeing as basically every modern computer does, and it has two slots.
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    The OP isn't going to get dual-channel with one 4GB stick anyway, so he might as well keep one of the original 1GB sticks in.

    Keep the extra in there and have 5GB.
     

Share This Page