Mac Mini or iMac? A Money Problem

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jcbhammond, Jun 26, 2011.

1. jcbhammond macrumors member

Hello everybody, this is my first time posting to the forums but I have been following the site and the forums for a number of years.

I have been wanting to purchase a Mac now for about 1 1/2 years but every time something has stopped me. I've been borrowing a family members several times and really like it, but I can't figure out which one I really want. Finally, I think I've narrowed it down to either a Mac Mini with dual Dell displays or the base line 27" iMac.

With the Mac Mini I seem to spend a little less money for more stuff. I also have the added benefit of portability if I ever needed to take it anywhere(not a huge issue I don't think).

With the iMac I get a lot more computing power and the price step up is very minimal and I can add on more as I get more money(ram, etc). However there seem to be some issues like the glossy screen, my desk is situated right over a diffused skylight, and I was playing with it it seemed that the back got really warm under even light loads. This really bothers me because the last time I put a large screen in my room, it raised the temperature considerably.

I'm not a real power user all your basic stuff, web, photos, email, docs. I would like to get into IOS Development as well.

Any help would be great. Thanks.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

iMac's enclosure is made out of aluminum which is a conductor. That means it will feel hot even thought the innards are within safe temperatures. The only way to determine the temperatures is to use for example iStat, touching the iMac is subjective and very inaccurate. I wouldn't worry about the heating, iMac has been designed to handle it.