Mac Mini Plex Media Server

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Skon, Dec 26, 2014.

  1. Skon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #1
    Please Help -
    How to route a Mac Mini using Plex Media Server to multiple Smart Tv's via cat 6.

    Everything I see in forums and youtube show the Mac Mini located in the lounge room connected via HDMI.
    I wish to locate my mac mini in the garage next to my ASUS Router and Netgear 24port switch box and run the media via cat6 to my tv's.

    I am about to get a Mac Mini but I want to make sure this routes nicely first. Can someone please let me know how I can use the Mac Mini as a server and run movies etc to 3 of my Smart Tv's. I know I can run it wirelessly to Iphone and Ipad but I want the tv's hard wired. I have seen how and where to download Plex, I just need some routing assistance if this is possible. I use a Macbook pro laptop generally.

    Hardware:
    Mac Mini
    Router
    24 port Switch
    Smart Tv x 3

    Thank you kindly
     
  2. scoobdriver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #2
    If you have a smart TV which runs the Plex App, it will detect the server on the same network.. (you can even connect to a plex server on the WAN if you have access and a fast enough connection)
    I have mine which connects to 2x Samsung TV which have the Plex App, and also to a NOW TV(like a roku) box in the little lads room, with restrictions so he only sees childrens movies) Can't recommend it enough.. (also thrown in a couple on ATV3's with plex client on them)

    If you really want to automate everything I run Sickbeard(Sickrage) to automatically dl my TV series and add and organise them in plex, couch potato for movies, and headphones for music (in conjunction with transmission Torrent) all on the server.

    BTW plex will also stream via DNLA if you dont have the plex client, and can use itunes library for music if you wish.
     
  3. Skon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #3
    Thanks Scoobdriver for your info.
    As I am a complete newbie and novice to networking I am looking for some assistance on a baby step setup on how exactly to link the the hardware I mentioned.
     
  4. scoobdriver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #4
    Internet -> router -> 24 port switch -> your Mac and all your tv's on cat 5e/6
    I'd give your Mac a static IP address but dhcp on the router will work just fine. ( I'm assuming your switch is unmanaged )

    ----------

    You don't mention of your router is Adsl or PPPoE but it will either have a wan rj45 port and some lan ports or adsl and lan. Lan connect to your switch , the other to your internet /wan
     
  5. Skon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #5
    Internet is NBN fast, switch is unmanaged but not POE.
     
  6. scoobdriver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #6
    That's fine Poe is power over Ethernet (different to PPPoE )
    Don't know what nbn is but suspect it is PPPoE so just connect you unmanaged switch to a LAN port on your router. It will likely already be setup to allocate ip addresses on the lan (dhcp)
     
  7. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #7
    your router will provide the dhcp side without an issue. The Mac with plex running will provide the Dlna server for any tv's that don't nativly run plex clients. There really is no need to over think this.

    As above...

    Router > switch - Mac + tv's

    Let the router handle wireless plus dhcp. There really is no need for static ip's in such a small setup.
     
  8. Skon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #8
    Thanks to all of the above, loving the info. U guys are awesome.
    Elaboration is welcome.
    Anyone else ??
     
  9. scoobdriver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #9
    Exactly. Plex client running on the tv enhances experience / usability but Dlna works just fine.

    Get it plugged in / setup and have a play. You can add / make adjustments as you go along , :)

    all should work out the box , you may only need to get into the firewall / port forward settings on the router and static ip's if you wish to remote control from outside your network / access web servers etc.

    Plex does a very good job of avoiding the need to port forward Etc. Meaning you should beable to access your media from the plex app on your phone / the plex webpage anywhere in the world, not just when connected to your network at home.
     
  10. andeify, Dec 28, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2014

    andeify macrumors 6502

    andeify

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I prefer to use ShowRSS and Catch, a much easier solution for new TV shows.
     

Share This Page