Mac Mini Power On Problem

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by scott:mac, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. scott:mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain
    #1
    Hey, Just a quick explanation.
    I'm really down and angry and being forced to use Vista for now -_-


    I opened up my mac mini to upgrade RAM.
    I look at it and realised. WTF do I do?

    So I closed it up again, with the intent to look up instructions on it.
    When i put it back together, the white light starts, i cant hear anything and after 5 seconds it will go off. and will NOT start up.

    help?
     
  2. Hugh macrumors 6502a

    Hugh

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #2
    When you opened the Mac Mini did you scrape/cut any thing in side? Or did you just opened it looked at and snap the top back on?

    If you didn't leave any marks on/in it and you just got it, I would take it back to Apple store or call Applecare to get a replacement. If you had it for awhile then still call/go to Apple and have it repaired. Don't tell them that you opened it. It doesn't void your warranty opening it, but if you do any damage in the unit, they won't do any thing with it.

    Here is a good place to watch a video of opening the Mac Mini and changing the RAM and Hard drive. http://eshop.macsales.com/installvideos/mac_mini_2009/

    Hugh
     
  3. scott:mac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain
    #3
    Will it cost? for them to diagnose the problem without applecare?

    When I prized it open, I slightly scratched the casing, not that noticable though.

    As I close the mini, there seems to be a slight 1mm gap where the inputs are and the case.

    but i dont see how that would effect it. the case has no effect on the actual system.
     
  4. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    You likely forgot to reconnect a cable. This is why you always try and start up before you close up the case.
     
  5. scott:mac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain
    #5
    Possible but. I didnt detach any cables, as i took it out. I examined it and put it back.
     
  6. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #6
    Could you open it up and take a picture of what the inside looks like? That may help us point out an obvious problem.
     
  7. Hugh macrumors 6502a

    Hugh

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #7
    To be honest I don't know if they will charge you to look at the machine. Maybe someone else can chime in on that. I don't have an Apple store so I don't know what they do, other then reading what others say on here. It is possible that when you put the top back on you might have cut a wire or a wire came out of place.

    Your right the case shouldn't have any thing to do with the operation of the computer. You can run that computer with the top off if you wanted to. But you said the ports look off slightly, I would say the top isn't on correctly.

    Did it work before you opened it?

    Hugh
     
  8. scott:mac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain
    #8
    Yeah, It worked before. Fine.

    I'll take a photo tommorow, Right now - I dont want to mess.
    thanks to repliers :)
     

Share This Page