MAC mini quad core?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Anthony Beck, Jun 4, 2015.

  1. Anthony Beck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm a photographer currently using a 2009 iMac and i'm wanting to upgrade to a Eizo monitor with a MAC mini, but currently they are all dual core. I'm looking at 16gb 2TB HD but would ideally would want quad core, anyone know if they will be going to quad core anytime soon or do I need to rethink the setup, or will dual core cut the mustard?

    Cheers

    Tony
     
  2. dan1eln1el5en macrumors 6502

    dan1eln1el5en

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #2
    get the previous version, better graphics and quad-core
     
  3. Anthony Beck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #3
    didn't realise there was a quad core, why did Apple stop producing them, was there a problem?
     
  4. mcnallym macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #4
    The 2012 mini was available as a Quad but only with the HD4000 series iGPU. The 2012 with the AMD dGPU was dual core only.

    Th biggest reason that is reckoned why no Quad in the 2014 is new form factor and that whereas for the 2012 mobile CPU's were a single socket for Dual and Quad on the latest processors then the Quad and Dual are different sockets and thus need different boards etc to work with so would be two boards to produce rather then 1.

    The GPU on the 2014 is better then the GPU on the Quad 2012's
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    The previous version has far inferior graphics (HD4000 vs Iris 5100).
     
  6. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #6
    I think this all depends on whether the OP is working on large files, and which program is being used. IF it was something like Photoshop CS6, I would opt for the older quad 2.6 as the "inferior" graphics makes no difference about 99.x percent of the time. Other applications might exploit the GPU and that possibly might be an advantage to the newer model.
     
  7. Celerondon macrumors 6502a

    Celerondon

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #7
    Nope...
    No such animal exists! :rolleyes:

    I say the 2012s were all HD4000s, were they not?
     
  8. MRrainer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    #9
    2011 version had AMD GPU
    2012 had HD4000 - depending on the amount of RAM you had, you got more or less VRAM.
    2014 entry level has HD5000, mid and hi-end model has Iris.

    None of them does 4K at 60Hz - so if you buy a QC 2012 model, you're essentially trading the 2nd TB2 port (which allows for 2x 2600x1600 instead of only 1x 2600x1600) of the 2014 for two more CPU cores.

    Either one will work much better with an SSD.
     
  9. westrock2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #10
    A 2012 will do 3340x1440 @ 50HZ ok. Its not 4K and it's not 60Hz, but it's getting close :)
     
  10. xsquid macrumors regular

    xsquid

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #11
    +1, world of difference.
     

Share This Page