Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sith Vol

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 7, 2011
Memphis, TN
Hey guys, I'm kinda interested in purchasing a Mac Mini. I really don't know much about them but the low price tag for a desktop Mac is intriguing. I consider myself a member of the Apple family; I have an iPhone, iPad 2, and MBA, but I've recently been wanting to get a Mac desktop to complete my switch from PC. I'm a college student so I have some financial constraints but it was recently my birthday so I've got some cash to spend. I was considering upgrading to the iPad 3 but I'm starting to shift that idea for a Mac Mini. I already have a monitor that I can hook up to it and the SuperDrive from my MBA so all I'd need is a keyboard and mouse.

I know some of you may ask why I want one with having an Air already. Well, I really want to get one because of the hard drive space and the ability to completely leave PC and just boot camp Windows 7 for some gaming. I really don't play that much, but I play SWTOR a little bit. Would this game run alright on a base Mini or would I need the 4GB model? And also all I REALLY do on the computer is web surf, type papers, listen to music, watch movies/Netflix. With the Mini I'd want to add boot camp for Windows 7 and probably some DVD converting. Is 2gb ram and the lower end video card "ok" for these types of things, and the occasional playing of SWTOR? Not sure if this matters at all but I was able to boot camp and play SWTOR fine on my 128gb 13in MBA when I tried it.

Thanks for reading and for the help!

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4s: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

You don't want to run lion on 2gb of ram and you would be better off getting the model with dedicated gfx tbh

Sith Vol

macrumors 6502
Original poster