Mac Mini RAM change issue! Help PLEASE! Beeping!

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by wartnig, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. wartnig macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #1
    Hi,

    So today i took apart my mini (March 2009 2ghz 1gb DDR3) aprt to upgrade the ram.

    I followed the instructions from ifixits website - all went well!
    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Repair/Mac-mini-Model-A1283-RAM/1058/1

    Until i came to boot it back up.... now i just get a beeping tone when occurs every few seconds... nothing is displayed on the my screen... can anyone help please?
    Why is it doing this.. i was very careful and everything has gone back exactly where it was... HELP me please.... :(

    Thanks guys..
     
  2. ljonesj macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #2
    i dont have a mac mini yet but it sounds like one or both ram chips are not seated in there slots properly so take it back apart and remove the ram clean the the terminals of the ram and reseat and check connections as u reassemble and as u take back apart that should fix it
     
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  4. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #4
    Yeah man, I had the same thing happened to mine when I up'ed the RAM. Just remove the memory sticks and stick them back on there again.
     
  5. wartnig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #5
    cheers guys!! I have replaced the ram again!! Things seem to be a bit better now... Although still not right...
    When i plug it back in ... the grey screen appears on boot up.. but instead of an apple logo appearing and the OS loading up.. i just get a dark grey folder icon with a question mark in... this stays onthe screen and it doesnt boot up any further....

    Does the case need to be back on the mini for it to boot up?
     
  6. ljonesj macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #6
    from what i read it doest not but like i said i dont have a mini yet check ur hard drive connections with the mini off and try again
     
  7. Blair230 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Near Philly
    #7
    I dont have a mini either so I am not sure if the case has to be back on, but the fact you are getting power says it probably can operate without it.

    That flashing question mark is there because it is not finding an operating system. Check your hard drive connections...in the course of assembling/disassembling you may have knocked something loose.

    Good Luck:apple:
     
  8. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    You can indeed operate the Mini with the top off.

    And to reiterate, check the SATA connections. Also, hold option when you boot up, it will show what boot devices are available. If your Mac HD shows up, it is likely that the Mini forget what your boot device was. This is unlikely, but worth a shot in the event your already closed it up.
     
  9. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #9
    When you put the top tray (hard drive, optical drive) back on, observe that the riser slot slips into the socket.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #10
    When I was upgrading my mini, I broke off the part where the ribbon cable sits (part is shown above). It beeped. Also be sure that the RAM is seated correctly, at first I didn't have my RAM seating correctly. Check those things and see if everything you disconnected is tight and secure.
     
  11. wartnig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #11
    cheers people!! :) great help and advice.. i took it back apart checked everything and fixed it all back together very careful.. put the casing on.. and bingo! it worked! Great help off u all.. thank you! :)
     
  12. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #12
    Same thing happened to me with my PowerMac .... 12 years ago. I see things haven't changed. :) Beeps = unseated ram.
     

Share This Page