Mac mini - RAM questions

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ofut, Nov 1, 2012.

  1. ofut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,
    I am looking at getting a mac mini, I have a few questions:
    1) I think I read on the Apple site that if you are wishing to upgrade memory you should use two of the same size RAM chips, e.g. 2x2, 2x4GB and so forth. What happens if you don't follow this advice? I am thinking of upgrading to 8GB, but it seems the current model ships with 2x2GB. If I take one of the 2GBs out and replace with 8GB, will that still work? Or should I take both out and use the 8GB alone?

    2) I would like to play a few games with the mac, nothing too intense graphically speaking, probably Football Manager 2013, Civ 5 maybe, the new Sim City when it comes out. Is the current model up to this kind of thing?
    Think that's all for now.
    Thanks
     
  2. NeuroticNomad macrumors newbie

    NeuroticNomad

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    #2
    Modest Games

    Those games run fine on my 2009 Mac Mini which is nowhere NEAR as powerful as the one you just ordered... so I doubt you'll have any issues.
     
  3. theRAMman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    The Moon.
    #3
    The RAM should work fine with 10GB (2+8) but i hear that i preform slightly slower. But for the games you are playing, the standard 4GB of RAM should be fine. You only want loads of RAM if you doing lots of photo and video editing.
     
  4. ofut thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    #4
    You mean slower than you would expect 10GB to be (if, say for example it was 2x5GB (yes I know that's not possible))? But still faster than 8GB?

    I don't mind that, as long as I don't risk blowing the thing up, or destroying the universe or something stupid.
    Generally sounds good anyway, have to wait now until next payday cos I broke my stupid bike, but it will be mine!
     
  5. Heynonny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    #5
    You'll be fine.

    Just don't cross the streams.
     
  6. theRAMman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    The Moon.
    #6
    Yeah, basically. It would still work, but as i understand it, the RAM may not preform at 1600MHz but slower. It would still be better than 8gb, but only marginally. Also, i say again, you probably don't need more than the included 4gb. The whole 'more RAM = More Fps' is total fallacy. Save yourself the cash, unless you plan on doing intensive photo editing or something like that.
     

Share This Page