Mac mini restarts once in awhile due to error?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by helloshirosan, Jun 7, 2014.

  1. helloshirosan macrumors member

    helloshirosan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #1
    So I got my Mac mini December 2013 and a few months later I had a professional apple dealer install a SSD boot drive and keep the original HDD as an internal media drive. They also installed 16gb ram. Sometimes when I leave my web browser open waking up my computer from Sleep mode that I put it in or when it goes to sleep mode on its own, after it wakes it will restart saying it had some kind of problem and ignore or report to apple....It didn't do it before...is something terribly wrong that I have to get it looked at? After it restarts everything works find but then again Im not a computer tech. Please help:( Should I worry?
     
  2. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #2
    That's called a "Kernel Panic". Can be caused by both minor & major issues.

    This document discusses some causes & has troubleshooting steps:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4636
     
  3. helloshirosan thread starter macrumors member

    helloshirosan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #3
    Thanks you for the link. I will take an in-depth look into it. Glancing over it, it said something about the use of third-party software that could be a factor. The only thin the Third-Party certified Apple specialist loaded onto my computer " Carbon Copy Cloner and Final Cut Pro X

     
  4. Donoban macrumors 6502a

    Donoban

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    #4
    I would say it's your ram. Here is my story.

    Brand new mac, every now and then the screen would lose sync, i.e. go all fuzzy (like an old tv not tuned into a channel correctly), then I started getting the spinning colour wheel and applications crashing, etc.

    Apple did something with the RAM and now it's all good. No more issues with the video losing sync (must be because the HD4000 uses the system ram as video ram) and no more crashes.

    You can perform a simple diagnostic your self. If you have 16gb of ram that means 2x8gb chips. Remove one of the chips and use your PC as you normally would. See if you can reproduce, if not, swap chips and put the other in. See if you can reproduce.

    That would allow you to confirm if it's the ram or not. I think most of the times these things have simple explanations.

    I would be surprised if was either of the apps installed by this back yard mac operator.
     
  5. helloshirosan thread starter macrumors member

    helloshirosan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #5
    Yeah I get the "snow" channel on my screen every once in awhile when it wakes up. My Ram is from Crucial I bought through BHphoto. Bad batch?


     
  6. Donoban macrumors 6502a

    Donoban

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    #6
    Just try each chip individually to confirm if one is bad. Good luck.
     

Share This Page