Mac Mini restore discs with iMac

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by KyleB171, Mar 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KyleB171 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Paisley, Scotland
    #1
    Well yeah, I lost my 2.4GHz aluminium iMac restore discs and I wanted to do a clean install, but I used the Mac Mini's restore discs instead, could I run into any performance issues or is it just the same if I was to use the iMac discs?

    Thanks,
    Kyle
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Installation disks are model-specific. Call Apple for replacement disks.
     
  3. KyleB171 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Paisley, Scotland
    #3
    Are you sure? The only difference I notice is that it didn't include iLife 08 which I'm not too fussed about because I have iLife 09.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2271:
     
  5. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #5
    It's not. The disks are model-specific, and the installer will not let you install it on a different model. There are ways around that, but hacking that is not really a good idea; most models come with a build that is specifically built for that model.

    Also, if you install a build that was released before your machine was, you will run into a variety of problems, most notably stability issues and driver problems (or missing drivers), and most likely sub-par performance as well.
     
  6. KyleB171 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Paisley, Scotland
    #6
    The disc says "For Mac Computers" nothing about it just being for the Mac Mini...

    I never ran into any of these problems, lets get it straight, I've already installed it, it never warned me, I never hacked it and I never tried to work around it, I put the disc in, and installed it. No messages me warning me whatever. So yeah? Opinion now? What should I do?
     
  7. vista.john macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #7
    Normally, you wouldn't be able to use the installation disk directly. Don't know about your case...

    Make sure you update all your software up to date after. Shouldn't have much problem. If you don't try, you never know...
     
  8. KyleB171 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Paisley, Scotland
    #8
    As I said above, everything worked the way it should do. No warnings etc.
     
  9. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #9
    My opinion doesn't change. Apple says it's a bad idea, so I'm not even sure why you're re-asking the question here. Your system may work now. That doesn't mean you don't have a time bomb in there waiting for you somewhere, or a driver that you haven't realized is malfunctioning or missing. And it doesn't mean that doing this is "ok," which is what you originally asked.
     
  10. KyleB171 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Paisley, Scotland
    #10
    So what will I do then? How will I get the iMac discs? If I was to phone them would they send them out for free? Or would I have to pay?
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    There's a charge, but it's small... something like $25 or so. They can tell you when you call. Call 1-800-APL-CARE (1-800-275-2273).
     
  12. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    $25 is not a small charge, not when you can get a full retail package from CL or eBay for $50 or so.
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    It's relative. $25 is small, compared to $129 for retail Leopard. I don't buy from eBay. What's expensive to one person is a drop in the bucket to another.
     
  14. KyleB171 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Paisley, Scotland
    #14
    Yeah ok, the price seems reasonable, I'll phone them up tomorrow, It's weird though, because It's detecting it as an iMac in about my mac and detecting all the hardware properly...

    [​IMG]

    Mac OS Version: 10.5.4 (Now updated to 10.5.6 through Software Update)
    AHT Version: 3A152
    Disc Version 1.0
    2Z691-6248-A

    If that's any help to determine why it's working so well...
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    From Forum Rules:
     
  16. capriseyhaze macrumors regular

    capriseyhaze

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    florida
    #16
    Its all good man my imac came with macbook air disks
     
  17. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    Holy crap dude; use tIMG tags!

    It's possible they the same discs for the iMac and Mac mini; I know the MacBook Pro discs on my computer don't work on my MacBook or my dad's MacBook Air.
     
  18. KyleB171 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Paisley, Scotland
    #18
    Thanks, that's a load of my shoulders... I'm still going to get the discs but thanks for that.
     
  19. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #19
    A quick google of that part number finds both Macbook and iMac disks with the same number. Perhaps the disks can be used in both configurations? Perhaps Mac Mini too? I don't know.
     
  20. KyleB171 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Paisley, Scotland
    #20
    Thanks for that comment, I did a Google search and your correct, the part number is getting sold for iMac discs as well. Which is great! Thanks! :D

    EDIT: On more investigation it seems as if retail discs are shipped with Mac Mini's that's why it works, so it would work on all Mac's basically. Thank god! :D
     
  21. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #21
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page