Mac Mini running Virtual Windows Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by gpspad, Mar 27, 2017.

  1. gpspad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #1
    I am new to a lot of this mac mini server stuff so not sure if this is a dumb question.

    I have a 2012 i7 I use as my main computer, its always doing something so I can't really don't want to dual boot into windows with it . I also have a spare mini I use as a server, running plex and a bunch of other stuff.

    So I have gotten to love logging in remotely to the server and my mac book and was wondering if I could do the same thing with a mini somehow running a VM of windows.

    I just don't have the desktop real estate for two monitors. I'd love to just have a separate window on the screen running windows.

    Does dual booting windows shut off the OSX functions that allow the remote logins?
     
  2. fricotin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Location:
    Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca, Mexico
    #2
    I've been doing just that with Parallels for years.
     
  3. gpspad thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #3
    So can I run parallels on a headless mac mini and use OS X to remote login into it and run windows in it?

    That exactly what Im looking for, that gives me a OS X and a windows machine at the same time using one monitor.
     
  4. jpietrzak8 macrumors 65816

    jpietrzak8

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    #4
    Hey, can I ask what monitor you are using?

    Most of my monitors have at least two input ports (one for, say, HDMI, another for DisplayPort or VGA). In the past, when I've wanted to run two computers with just one monitor, I'd plug each of them into one of the input ports, and then switch between the two by flipping between inputs on the monitor.

    Just an idea...
     
  5. fricotin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Location:
    Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca, Mexico
    #5
    I think I misunderstood your question, can't really help you with that.
     
  6. craig1024 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    #6
    You can set up a vm for free just get virtual box from virtualbox.org and then download a premade vm from Microsoft https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-edge/tools/vms/ make sure to give the vm at least 2 cores and 2 gigs of ram and also increase the graphics memory to at least 128mb.
    Hope this helps.
     
  7. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    Why? If I wanted to run Windows,I could actually go to the computer restoration shop,and buy a working dell laptop for 1/3 the price of a Mac mini or so.
     
  8. MagicHAM macrumors regular

    MagicHAM

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Why waste money when you can easily do it on your mac? Hell I use Windows on my mac (as a dual boot) runs smooth ... Apple do support it with drivers, and if it works it works.

    I guess each to their own i guess :p
     
  9. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    Maybe because a dell alienware is a lot faster than any apple computer I ever seen. Only use for a windows machine is for fast paced games.
     
  10. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #10
    Do you own a retail copy of Windows that you want to use? More importantly a product key?

    Like mentioned just download VirtualBox and set up a Windows VM. You'll need to familiarize yourself with the software but once you get it setup right you'll be able to do basic Windows task effortlessly.

    There are some power limitations you'll run into when using a VM so don't expect to be gaming even at a native Mac Mini windows bootcamp level. But it will work fine for basic stuff, like mention give the VM a decent amount of RAM, CPU and VRAM and I also recommend setting up a "fixed disk" during setup.

    In the end it will be like using any other program in OSX.

    Screenshot from 2017-04-15 07-59-35.png

    All I had was WinXP on this machine but you can imagine if it was something even worse like Win10. :D
     
  11. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    Lol.... if I want Windows XP,I could probably do some excavations in my garage or the nearest garbage dump,and find a working HP,dell or Lenovo running XP.
     
  12. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #12
    Ironically this is a Lenovo Thinkpad and I keep Win10 on a dedicated SSD in a SSD caddy in place of the optical drive.

    I'm confused though. That was an example of VirtualBox for the OP. Why would I care what you want in someone else's thread? (thats a rhetorical question, I don't care).
     

Share This Page