Mac Mini second hard drive

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by haoqfu, May 15, 2012.

  1. haoqfu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #1
    Guys,
    I'm buying a new mac mini next month (hopefully get updated at wwdc) to replace my mba. I'm going to add an intel ssd into the mini.

    Just having a question here, can i put the ssd in the second drive slot (instead of swapping the original hdd into the second and install ssd at the primary slot)? I want to use the ssd as the primary drive to boot the os.
     
  2. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #2
    You can put it into whatever slot you want and choose whichever disk as the start up one.
     
  3. haoqfu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #3
    thanks. really appreciate it.
     
  4. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    No worries. The easiest thing to do would be to add the SSD (you'll need some extra cables if you're getting a Mini with one HDD - there are plenty of explanations and videos around), then boot up as normal from the HDD.

    Use an app like Carbon Copy Cloner to clone your current HDD to the SSD. Change the SSD to be the start up drive in preferences. Reboot. Viola.
     
  5. Bunyak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #5
    Does CCC automatically clone the recovery partition of the boot HDD? I was unsure about that when I cloned my HDD recently.
     
  6. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #6
    I don't remember if it clones it automatically. I know there is definitely a setting in there to clone the recovery partition in the current version, but I can't tell you whether it's on by default or not.

    I actually didn't do it on my mini server when I swapped the HDD to a SSD. It's no big loss since I use the HDD that I took out as the clone for SSD and do a clone on a regular basis. I reckon a full clone is much better than a recovery partition, but if you're worried, then you can google for a way to get your recovery partition back,
     
  7. BigDukeSix macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #7
    Do the newest Mini's come with a space for a 2nd hard drive? I have been researching and could not come up with the definitive answer. Thanks in advance!
     
  8. davidoloan, May 17, 2012
    Last edited: May 18, 2012

    davidoloan Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #8
  9. PodPacker macrumors regular

    PodPacker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #9
    What about the mini with video card

    is there space for second HDD in the Mac mini with a video card or is the space take up by the card?
     
  10. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #10
    All of the 2011 Mac mini line up are able to be configured with dual hard drives. The AMD 6630M GPU in the mid-range Mac mini is on the logic board.
     
  11. silverjam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #11
    Make sure both drives are 9.5mm thick.

    Also be careful when removing the fan plug. It is prone to come of the logic board.

    Sure you can boot from either on either port. There is not primary port. And if you notice in the Mac System info, the HD which is on the bottom which many people refer to as the secondary or bottom drive is actually the top drive. The "Upper Bay" is the drive in the "non standard" slot, while the "Lower Bay" is the HD in the standard position just under the WiFi and stainless steel mesh.

    Silverjam
     
  12. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Install the new SSD into either of the drive bays, although you need to make sure you aren't replacing the current startup disk!
    Use CarbonCopyCloner or SuperDuper (see my videos for a guide - link in sig) to clone the startup disk to the SSD.
    Enter System Preferences and change the startup disk across to the SSD.
    Reboot.
    Once rebooted off of the SSD, simply reformat your HDD.
     

Share This Page