Mac mini server to 21.5 imac Late 2012

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by iMacUnsure, Mar 13, 2014.

  1. iMacUnsure macrumors member

    iMacUnsure

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #1
    I am considering a mac mini server to connect to my 21.5 using Firewire my question is could just purchase the regular mac mini and install server OS X on it?
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    If you're just connecting a computer via firewire, why not save a bunch of money and buy an external disk instead?
     
  3. iMacUnsure thread starter macrumors member

    iMacUnsure

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #3
    My, my, my....hummm, re read what I wrote.......
     
  4. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    No reason why not, but they would both be connected to your network via ethernet or wireless anyway?

    You can always add another hard drive and ram later if you get a basic spec mini.
     
  5. DavidG328 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Responses like this are what keep people from answering your question. Good job.
     
  6. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #6
    Hmmmm... Your question, IMO, is ambiguous and unclear. Perhaps you should re-read what you wrote and edit it for clarity.

    Cheers,
     
  7. ElectronGuru macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #7
    Yes, assuming the same hardware, buying mavericks server separately gives an equivalent result. It also make installation for remote use, easier, since it will be available for free DL from your Mac App Store account.
     
  8. iMacUnsure thread starter macrumors member

    iMacUnsure

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #8

    Well its a funny frigging thing to me that several others who have responded know what the hell I am saying....What am I writing in Greek?

    ----------

    Same as above......
     
  9. DavidG328 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Nope, in ***hole.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Simple answer - yes...
    However, server is just additions to the software giving you a GUI to more easily set up the software that is already there in the client version. Someone who knows their way around the terminal can basically do everything that the OS X server software does.

    And, the other (crap) answers are, IMHO, pointing out that adding a hard drive (extra storage) would likely be more efficient than adding a server to your network. But, then that's where the confusing part comes in. Connecting computers through firewire is somewhat limited compared to ethernet, or even wifi - as that's essentially a local connection, and not on your full network.
    Hence, though your first post appears clear enough - it begs the question why you think you need OS X server at all. And - that's where I think the remarks come from.
     
  11. DavidG328 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    I understood what he was asking, it was just his responses that I was referring to.
     
  12. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    I never really understood why people who obviously don't have a clue are an ass to those that they are asking for help.
     
  13. iMacUnsure thread starter macrumors member

    iMacUnsure

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #13
    Oh well, go back to school and learn the language.

    I have an external drive connected. Is it possible to install it to that drive?

    ----------

    It ain't no big deal. Some are just better at starting flame wars than others. I thought this forum was for asking questions and getting help but obviously I was wrong. Next time I will just ask Apple.
     

Share This Page