Mac mini + Sony Full HD bravia display

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by volodymyrqa, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. volodymyrqa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    #1
    Guys, did any one had troubles with setup of HDTV on Mac mini?

    It works, but it seems that signal from Mac is not in HD.
    I do not know what may be the reason.
     
  2. Surfmavs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Merida Yucatan Mexico
    #2
    Macmini 2011

    Yeah, i have a sony bravia fullHD 32" that i use as monitor... When i first connected it to the macmini, using HDMI (both sony and apple cables, it doesnt matter) it looked blurry, i was worried about the tv not having enough resolution or crispiness, but then i plugged it into my macpro, using th dvi to HDMI port adapter and voilá super crisp and beautiful.... I haven't tried the vga to minidsplay port adpter... Maybe it could have different results...
    But yes, probably the integrated graphics in the mac mini has some shortcomings...
    Good luck!
     
  3. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #3
    There are a lot of different Sony Bravia displays, but I am running a 2012 Mini on a 50" Sony Bravia on HDMI with no issues. Full 1080P.
     
  4. volodymyrqa thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    #4
    Mine is 40W905. It looks like picture is in SD quality. Tried various settings and it did not helped.
     
  5. JootecFromMars macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Go to System Preferences > Display. Select 'Scaled'. What resolution is selected?
     
  6. volodymyrqa, Oct 31, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2013

    volodymyrqa thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    #6
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    It says 1080p but picture is not crisp as it should be

    and this is what TV manual says:
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  7. JootecFromMars macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Ok. So it's outputting 1080p. Good.

    I'm suspecting the issue is on the TV end. Not sure what it's called on Sony TV's but looks like it may have overscan compensation going on. If you output the OS X desktop to the TV, do you see both the menu bar at the top of the screen and the dock at the bottom? If not you need to look through the TV menus to turn off overscan compensation.. not sure what it will be called on Sony TV's.

    ----------

    http://pdf.crse.com/manuals/13HG900111/EN/c_picscrn_size.html

    The [Display Area] section is probably what you want to flick through.
     
  8. Sandman77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    #8
    Change the aspect ratio of the tv to original or just scan.
     
  9. volodymyrqa thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    #9
    thank you guys! it seems you have found the reason.

    but the problem is i can't find setting: original, just scan
     
  10. volodymyrqa thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    #10
    Yup, it shows perfectly. I don't need to resize picture or else. It's just my icons(picture) on desktop not crisp.
    Many thanks for the manual, i'll try this today.
     
  11. volodymyrqa, Nov 1, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2013

    volodymyrqa thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    #11
    well i've tried all the options and the picture not sharp as it should be...

    this tv do not have full scan option

    two days before i've had W808 and somehow it had perfect picture after some adjustments.

    If anyone have the solution i'll be really grateful.

    Maybe this screen won't show any better picture?

    Will try to connect the mini via display port to it somehow...
     
  12. scbond macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #12
    How close are you sat to the TV? OS X isn't exactly design to be displayed on a 42" TV with the user one or two feet away.
     
  13. Big Ben 99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    #13
    Which HDMI cable

    I have read that different types exist: A, C and D.
    Which one is to used ?
     
  14. volodymyrqa thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    #14
    :p
    42 is to big to be used as a monitor. Or you really need to sit at least 1.5-2m away. I'm using 40" on 1m away. Quite nice.

    ----------

    i'm not sure, but i've tried another Cable and it did not helped
     
  15. scbond macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #15

    Well that's my point...you need to be sat well away if using a large display or you'll notice a lot of discrepancies. For example, if you open the Mac App Store for updates you'll notice that gradients look really grainy. For a large TV you really want to be using it as a home theatre machine and not for everyday use...which I'm guessing was your intention anyway.
     
  16. volodymyrqa thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    #16
    Well, it seems you are right. It's strange that i saw less discrepancies on previous TV model 42W808.

    Issue is solved i guess. Thank you all for participation in topic.
     

Share This Page