MAC Mini SSD Upgrade - OS Setup

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Sweeney1988, Apr 7, 2015.

  1. Sweeney1988 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    #1
    Hi Guys

    Apologies if I have posted this as a new thread and theres a similar one open but I just wanted to ask a quick question.

    I have recently purchased a Mac Mini 2011 from eBay with the below specs and I have a question about upgrading to an SSD. I've watched a lot of videos on how to install the SSD and I'm pretty confident I will be able to do it with the right tools at my disposal (OWC Data Double SSD Installation Kit). My question is this; If i remove the 500GB HDD and replace it with a 240GB Crucial SSD will I need to make a copy OS X on an external HD to boot the OS and install it on the SSD. I am not bothered about loosing data as I rarely store Movies, etc on the HDD and most of my stuff is in the cloud. Sorry if this is a stupid question.... :S

    Specs:
    2.3GHz i5 - 8GB Ram - 500GB HDD - Intel HD Graphics 3000

    Thanks,
    Cormac
     
  2. marclondon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Yes of course - you can't boot the machine otherwise. Just buy a cheap SATA enclosure or a disk dock and then do a clean install on the SSD from the HDD before you install it. You could also make a bootable OS install on a USB stick and then install on the SSD internally.

    If you keep both the SSD and HDD inside, of course you can install from the HDD to the SSD.

    M.
     
  3. Sweeney1988 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.
    Both options sound good. I would assume the easier of the two would be to buy the SATA enclosure and install from the old HDD. Would the Mac Mini recognise the HDD (in the SATA enclosure) automatically when booting up with the new SSD inside? Or do I need to do something before in order to complete the clean install onto the SSD.

    Also, are you aware of any websites with a step by step guide on how to do this. I want to be 100% on the stages before I upgrade anything.

    Thanks,
    Cormac
     
  4. marclondon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #4
    As I said, install the OS on the SSD externally first - that way you know you are installing a bootable drive as you can test boot externally.

    But you said you have the data doubler kit - why not just add the SSD and keep the HDD inside? If the HDD is in the lower bay as it probably is it does mean a complete teardown though.

    ifixit is the best. And there are also dozens of threads on this forum about adding an SSD.

    M.
     
  5. Sweeney1988 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    #5
    I've done a bit more research and my intension is to use the Sata enclosure to clone the OS from my HDD to the SSD (Using disk utility). Once thats done I will replace the HDD with the SSD and boot.

    Thanks for your help, :)
     
  6. marclondon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Not sure you can clone just the OS easily. You can clone the whole disk using SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner to make a bootable clone. You can also use either of these to back up your SSD day to day. But I would do a clean install of Yosemite on the SSD - that way you start with a nice clean system to which you can add your apps.

    M.
     
  7. Sweeney1988 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    #7
    How would i go about doing the clean install? Do i need to install a copy of Yosemite on a usb drive and boot from that with the SSD in place?
     
  8. marclondon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Just download the Yosemite installer from the Apple app store to your HDD. Put the SSD in an enclosure or dock, format it and install Yosemite.

    M.
     
  9. Sweeney1988 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    #9
    That would be easier lol - don't know why I didn't think of that.

    thanks again for you help marclondon
     

Share This Page