Mac Mini toslink to Samsung Plasma

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by phas3, Feb 19, 2012.

  1. phas3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #1
    I was wondering, I have a 2.1 Klipsch ProMedia. Is it possible to connect the toslink into the tv and then connect the 2.1 to the tv to get sound from those speakers without having to purchase a receiver?
     
  2. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #2
    Most TVs do not have an input. If they have toslink, it is for output to a receiver. But analog can carry stereo sound, which is all your speakers are, just plug in a headphone adapter to the Mini to the speakers. And 2 RCA adapter to the TV. You'll probably want a little Y cable to get both TV and Mini to the speakers, but those are very inexpensive.
     
  3. phas3 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #3

    will I be able to control the speaker volume through the remote or i'll have to use the volume knob on the speakers?
     
  4. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #4
    For the TV, that depends on what you have, exactly. If it has a fixed output only, you need to use the speaker's control. If there is a headphone or other variable output, the TV volume will work. And frankly, you should make sure it has any output at all, first.

    The Mini will certainly control the volume with an analog output, so you can use the Apple remote for that.
     
  5. phas3 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #5
    according to this

    http://content.reviewed.com/products/10287/specs/5659/Samsung-PN51D6500-ports.jpg

    so how should I connect it, I just have the toslink cable and I have the cord from the 2.1 that plugs into a headphone jack but the other end is soldered into the speakers
     
  6. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #6
    Well, the speakers can plug directly into the Mac no problem. But the TV is a problem if that is all the connections it has. You could run the toslink into the Mac, if it can act as a DAC and pass through the digital input to analog output. I'm not sure about that.
     

Share This Page