Resolved mac mini - two HDs

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by etsi, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. etsi, Oct 31, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011

    etsi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    Can you select which of the two HD is going to be bootable by default?

    In server which is the boot HD by default? The bottom or the upper? If I replace the upper with a SSD can I select that one as default boot disk?

    Is it also possible to download lion from internet if there is no operating system in HDs?

    Thanks
     
  2. Tiki35 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
  3. Osamede macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #3
    Will changing this setting make the system move the relevant system files from one disk to the other (to enable startup) - or do you have to do that manually?
     
  4. etsi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #4
    I just replaced the HD with SSD and then while booting hit cmd-R. It downloaded mac os and everything installed fine.
     
  5. Tiki35, Nov 6, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011

    Tiki35 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
    #5
    No, if you point it to a Startup disk that is not bootable, it's not going to boot.
    Actually, Lion should let you know that is a disk is not bootable in System Pref anyway.
     

Share This Page