Mac Mini unibody Wifi problem

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by PaulexPC, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. PaulexPC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #1
    I am very annoyed.

    Nine months ago I bought a new unibody Mac Mini (nice). I also bought a Time Capsule router. It worked very well for nine months.

    All of a sudden a few days ago the mini can't find the network. The two devices are twenty feet apart. In the same room I have an iPhone and a PC and they see the network just fine. But the mini can't see the Time Capsule network.

    WTF? Is this a problem with my mini?
    When I launch Airport utility it can't find any device. After rebooting several times sometimes it will find it and work for a day. If I connect with an ethernet wire it works fine.
    But I want the darn wireless to work.
     
  2. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #2
    Hi Paulex,
    do you live in an apartment or a busy street (regarding wireless com.)?
    This might be a problem if a bunch of people (or even your family) got a bunch of new wireless devices.
    Unfortunately you can't check your neighbors but if you have several new items in your place try to disconnect them one by one & try to find if that's the problem...
     
  3. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #3
    Let's try to reset that wireless card.

    1. Reset Your Pram and/or Reset The PMU.

    2. How I fixed my dropping wireless Airport connection problem in Snow Leopard - Try the steps in this blog.

    3. First turn off the Airport card. In System Preferences->Network pane look at the top of the pane for the "Location" drop-down. Use that Location drop-down to make a custom Location calling it whatever you like. After creating the new Location look in the right hand part of the pane and click on the 'Apply' button to save that new Location. Then rejoin your network.

    Good Luck.
     
  4. PaulexPC thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #4
    Thank you for the advice.
    I don't live in a busy apartment. I used iStumbler and see seven networks nearby. A friend came by and locked mine onto one channel vs. automatic and it's working for the time being.

    I will reset the pram in a day or two to see if that helps.
     
  5. PaulexPC thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #5
    Hey, thanks for the tips. My friend came over and made the settings manual vs. automatic, and left it set on channel 3. It has been working well for four days, which is a record.

    BTW: I had a neighbor move in next door about the time this trouble started. Maybe it's interference? Other than mine, his is only one network that shows up.
     

Share This Page