Mac Mini vs. iMac vs. Hackintosh

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Dee908, Apr 9, 2011.

1. Dee908 macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I'd just like your suggestion on which setup I should get. I'm a college student that will be working this summer to save up for a computer setup which I'm in desperate need. I currently have none, and spend most of my time in the computer lab at school on the iMacs. I previously owned both the aluminum Macbook circa 2008 as well as the 1st generation iPad but at separate times.

I'm not necessarily in need of a powerhouse computer, I don't really do anything intensive though I do plan on learning the ins and outs of Photoshop as well as web design this summer. The most video editing I'd do is of sports clips I record on my Flip camera.

The setups I'm currently contemplating are..

1) Unibody Mac Mini + Apple Wireless Keyboard + Magic Trackpad + BulletTrain Express + Logitech Z2300 Speakers + HDTV

Which would come up to $1375 in my estimation. The benefit of this setup is that I can take my Mac Mini with me whenever I travel back home (international student) as well as the HTPC aspect of it, I used to use Boxee and Plex when I had my Macbook. The downfall I guess would have to be the power (it's a 2.4ghz Intel Core Duo which although I really don't know that is exactly I know is a lot less power than I'd get from 3.06ghz i3 iMac)

2) 21.5" iMac + Apple Wireless Keyboard + Magic Trackpad + Logitech Z2300 Speakers.

This setup would cost a little more at $1430. I wouldn't need the BulletTrain Express as I'd be sitting at a desk to use it and can probably do without both the Wireless Keyboard and Magic Trackpad though I'd love to have as clean of a setup as possible (Removing the Magic Trackpad and purchasing MM Fixed for the Magic Mouse that comes standard with the iMac would bring the price down to the same $1375 as the Mac Mini)