Mac mini's memory and snow leopard?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Necro, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Necro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #1
    Alright so I have a mac mini. Runs on tiger. Well a friend bought me the sims 3 for my birthday but comes to found out i need os 10.5 and higher. Well I went out and bought snow leopard since it was cheap and THEN come to find out i need 1 gb ram.

    To be honest i know nothing of computers.

    so i check the memory and it says 512 mb

    is that my ram?

    if so are there tiny pieces of ram floating around my computer or do i need to buy another ram card?

    really i might take it to the apple store to get it done but i don't feel like spending money on an analysis

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #2
    what type of mini have you got, running on tiger? open system profiler, it could be a G4 model, which wont support snow leopard, seems weird a intel mini only having 512Mb, even the basic intels shipped with at least 1Gb
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Depends on the mini. At any rate 512MB is your current RAM. If you have an Intel mini then you can upgrade to at least 2GB. If you have a PPC mini, you can't run Snow Leopard anyway so the amount of RAM is moot.
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    First year or two of the Intels came with 512MB (2X256MB).
     
  5. Necro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #5
    i do have an intel =3

    so would i have to take it to the apple store to get an upgrade?
     
  6. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #6
    you could if your not very technically minded but it can be done yourself ;)
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    Given that you had 512MB originally, I'm guessing you have a Core Solo or Core Duo mini. These can take 2GB max. As BennieBoy says, you can do it yourself but opening up a mini can be a scary proposition for some. The RAM will probably set you back about $40-$50 (2X1GB DDR2-667 SODIMMs).
     
  8. Necro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #8
    I'd be to scared to do that, specially with scissors o.o but thanks anyways xD

    Intel Core Duo

    and i called the apple people =3= it willset me back another 30 dollars so about 80 in all.

    Thanks for the help both of you ^3^
     
  9. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #9
    If you take it to Apple, and happen to mention that you jumped from Tiger to Snow Leopard on the cheap ($30), they might slap you. ;)

    SL Box Set ($169) is what they sell for pre-Leopard licensed Macs.
     

Share This Page