Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hikeNM

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Howdy all!

I need some advice for the mac mini. I'm a school teacher who uses a projector ALOT, almost every class period. For the past 6 years I've used a 500 Mhz Blue iMac. It has served me well. But I'm longing for more.

The mac mini has caught my eye. And before I buy one, I'm trying to make sure the mini will do everything the iMac has been able to do.

My first concern is the mini's ability work with my projector. The iMac has a plug in the back(not sure what it's called, it has screws on both sides), that allows it to connect to my projector. Using the projector with the iMac requires nothing more than connecting with this cord. Turn the projector on and voila.

The mac mini doesn't have this plug though. How will my projector connect to the mini?

My projector also has composite plugs? Would they be usable with the mini?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

l33r0y

macrumors 6502
Aug 7, 2007
The old iMac would have an analog D-SUB connector, the same standard as the projector.

The Mac Mini along with the rest of the Mac range uses the newer digital standard, DVI interface which actually carries both digital AND analog video. In order to connect the Mac Mini to a projector you have 2 choices:

1, Use a DVI to a DSUB adaptor - allowing you to connect to the projectors DSUB input (very similar to what you were doing before)
dvi_to_vga_125.jpg

2, Use a DVI to composite & S-Video adaptor - allowing you to connect to the projectors composite or S-Video input (although you'll need to buy a seperate component or S-Video cable as well)
accessories_dviadapter20060228.jpg

Personal recommendation would be #1 as you are more familiar with this arrangement and the picture quality would be better. Also you will be able to reuse your existing cable between the adaptor and the projector.

L.

hikeNM

macrumors 6502a