Mac networking help needed!!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by SaMDa, May 14, 2007.

1. SaMDa macrumors newbie

Hello all.....First of let me start by saying that I am new to the Mac world and have to pick it up fast. My issue is that I have a room of 25 Macs, OS X 10.4, that need to be re-bound to the AD domain every morning!!!

I have not actually been on location yet, start this Sys Admin job this Wed, but I do want to start looking for a solution. I can get any more details that you may need. Any help solving this issue or giving me an idea where I can find answer will be greatly appreciated. Again, please ask if you any other details and I will get them.

2. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

When you say re-bound to the AD domain, do you mean a script is doing this?

In most of the documentation I've read, OD Binding has just been used between an OD master and replicas.....

Though, I am in the process of trying to create a OD that allows clients to log in to their LDAP profiles regardless of being on the intranet or not, through a "shared" OD model that the Apple documentation talks about.

3. SaMDa thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks for the reply....

no it is not a script.....they have to manually bind each Mac via the directory services on the local machine every morning. this started to happen after day light savings.........it might be that the times on the workstation and the DC are not syncing up. as i said tomorrow will be my first day....so i can gather more details by looking at the current setup and debriefing with the temps. so if need me i will post a new thread......

but regarding ur project...that is interesting.....i think u mean OU, not OD, as in organization unit. it does sound interesting however.....

4. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

5. SaMDa thread starter macrumors newbie