mac newb, please answer some Q's

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by SnowSpyder86, May 18, 2007.

1. SnowSpyder86 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone.

Im not a mac owner, and never have been. Im a pc technician, and only have worked on pc's and windows servers. The reason of this post is to ask some questions that have been on my mind about macs, becuase im thinking about getting a macbook.

How does the difficulty of upgrading ram and HDD's differ from mac to pcs (notebooks)?

If i get a macbook (one of the ones just released), will it be possible to upgrade to Leopard when it comes out? If yes, do you think there will be any dissadvantages of doing so such as slowness, etc?

I read that there was recently a class-action lawsuit against apple for the new macbook screens being very unevenly lit and blurry (i believe). Has anyone in her bought one of the new ones, and if yes, have you noticed this problem? Also, i have read about problems of swelling cases due to battery issues, and the top of the notebook cases rubbing off. Are these issues fixed yet?

I currently hook up my toshiba laptop up to my samsung 52'' DLP through VGA, and it looks friggin fantastic. I know that there is an adapter for macbooks that lets you do the same thing, but i heard some people complaining about the video output quality being fuzzy. Does anyone know if thats true from personal experience?

Also, how much HDD space does OSX take up?

Say i get a macbook, and it comes with pc 5300 sdram, can i replace it or upgrade it with any brand of pc 5300 sdram? Same question about HDD's. Also, how many ram slots are in the new macbooks.

What are the big differences between macbook and macbook pro that justify the huge price difference? is it just the size?

How do you adjust the volume on a macbook? I have a toshiba laptop with windows, and it has hotkeys and a volume control on the front.