Mac newbie keyboard question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by imahawki, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. imahawki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #1
    So... haven't had my Mac that long but on my Windows machine, when reading web pages, especially longer ones like forum threads, I would use the up/down arrows to scroll. This doesn't seem to work on a Mac or am I missing something? Having my hand on the mouse all the time just to scroll is uncomfortable (I have a bad shoulder so keeping my arm more extended is more of pain than having it tucked in a bit which it is when scrolling with the keyboard arrows).

    Thoughts?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    The Up/Down arrows work quite well, as does the Spacebar and the PageUp/PageDown keys.
    What browser are you using? Have you made sure that the correct window and tab is selected and active?
     
  3. rsted222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #3
    It works for my new iMac.

    I use Safari and Firefox. Are you using IE? If so, trash that browser.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    IE? On Mac OS X? Quite a feat to install it on Mac OS X I guess.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    If Rosetta's installed then it's not really any more difficult than any other app. But that's no excuse to use it :)
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    That easy? What a shame. IE should be banned from this dimension.
     
  7. imahawki thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #7
    Firefox. Here's what's weird. I've had the mac for about 4 weeks but this is my second one. The dvd drive on the first went out and they just replaced the whole unit. I kinda don't believe I wouldn't have noticed in the first 3.5 weeks that this didn't work so something's different. Is there a way to "reset" it? I have the wired big keyboard with the number pad.
     
  8. imahawki thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #8
    OK, more weirdness... its working right in Safari but not Firefox. How do I kill my firefox installation and start from scratch?
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    I don't use Firefox so this is a guess:

    With Firefox closed open up Finder, go to ~/Library/Application Support and see whether there's a Firefox folder in there (or a Mozilla folder). Drag it to the Desktop, start Firefox, and see whether it's fixed.
     
  11. imahawki thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #11
    Got it... blew away my profile and its working now.

    Separate question now...
    In windows explorer I used a lot of type ahead. Open a folder and type prog... and it would jump to program files, hit enter and you opened the folder. Type adob and it jumped to adobe, enter, type light and it jumped to lightroom, hit enter again etc. In OSx when you type ahead and hit enter it goes to rename the file or folder. Is there some other method to type ahead to quickly navigate folders without touching the mouse?
     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    CMD+ArrowDown in Finder is the equivalent of the ENTER key in Windows Explorer.
    You can also use the ArrowDown key to expand folders.

     
  13. imahawki thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

Share This Page