Mac Newbie - Scripting! (Proximity + JackSMS)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MaxusHastings, Sep 3, 2009.

1. MaxusHastings macrumors member

Hey Everyone!

I am a recent Mac-Switcher (a week old...) and so far i am really enjoying the switch, slowly getting my head around the different shortcuts and methodology for OSX.

I have recently started playing around with Proximity and JackSMS to work with my iPhone and all in all it works great...except one little flaw.

The "away" script works great, and the return one does to, however when i return it executes everything but JackSMS doesnt "unlock" the screen even though its prompted to in the script. I am new to scripting and no doubt i missed something...below is a copy of each:

And here is the return script:

I am no AppleScript expert so hope someone out there can either tell me if the script is at fault of JackSMS, it runs everything (including the welcome back voice prompt) however the screen stays locked...

Any help would be most appreciated!!

JackSMS Version: 1.0B6 (090)
    OS X Version: SnowLeopard

Thanks!

Maxus

2. thewierdone2000 macrumors newbie

Hey,

So, JackSMS actually starts ScreenSaverEngine when you tell it to lock, and tells it to quit when you return. Therefor, the code:

Code:
    do shell script "defaults -currentHost write com.apple.screensaver askForPassword -int 0"
    tell application "ScreenSaverEngine" to quit
    is redundant and unnecessary. Additionally, it removes the screensaver settings that you might have had before enabling JackSMS (which JackSMS restores upon you telling it to "unlock")

The real problem in this is that SnowLeopard breaks JackSMS. If you had a Leopard machine, your script would work fine. The problem lies in the following (about to get a little technical, but follow along if you want)