Mac Noob Here!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gillilandboy, Apr 26, 2007.

1. gillilandboy macrumors 6502

Well i am 15 years old and I am a long time windows user. My dad is a photographer and uses Photoshop CS2 (soon to be CS3) to edit all this photos he was on dell that be bought about 5 years ago when he bought it was really tricked out. He just bought an HP desktop with 4 gigs of ram and a 500 gig hard drive and its a really nice computer but the only thing that sucks is that it came with vista...He has been having all sorts of problems, he has this Epson printer (to print all this photos) and he downloaded all the drivers for it and it still doesn't work. He has been having a horrible time with windows mail he has lost ALL of his e-mails like 3 times in a row. He also is just getting random error messages and he is hating it! I have started to look at macs and I plan on getting a macbook for my birthday. So this leads me to why i am posting here. I finally talked my dad in to looking at mac's so I don't know if he should get a tricked out iMac or regular Macpro I mean he wants to spend a good deal of money on it but he doesn't wanna drop a lot you know what I mean?

Any help would be great thanks guys!

Any thing else you need to ask me please let me know.

2. mattscott306 macrumors 68040

mattscott306

How heavily into video editing is he? I'd say the deeper he is, the higher upgrades he should look into.

3. epochblue macrumors 68000

epochblue

I think he'd be perfectly happy with either the 20" or 24" iMac, honestly.

The 24" will get you 3GB of RAM and plenty of screen real estate to play with, plus, I think it comes out to be cheaper than the MacPro once you consider the price of monitors (if you don't already have one or two, that is).

Of course, you'll get more power with the Mac Pro, but if he's not doing some REALLY HARDCORE Photoshopping or video editing, I think the iMac would be more than enough.