Mac noob question.... (where is app hiding)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RGSMDNR, Mar 22, 2008.

1. RGSMDNR macrumors member

I just picked up my first mac, and im still learning how to use it. the problem i cant figure out is where the app is hiding. ill use adium as an example. i tried to run it, and im sure its running because there is a blue light under the icon in the dock, but the window wont open up. i can click on the adium icon all day, and nothing. where did it go? and how do i open in?

thanks!

2. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac

add your account from Adium's preferences. click Adium -> Preferences in the menubar.

3. MrT8064 macrumors 6502a

MrT8064

Hi, pressing Mac / will show all your contacts online.

4. RGSMDNR thread starter macrumors member

The contact list it self wont appear. i can quit and restart and it will open, but i think if i minimize it, it wont maximize.

5. blurb23 macrumors 6502a

How did you minimize your contact list? Click the little arrow next to "Buddies/Individuals"?

6. RGSMDNR thread starter macrumors member

well of course i cant get it to do it anymore. i think i just tried to run it, and the window wouldnt open. it said it was running, but i couldnt access my contact list.

its tough being a Mac noob... lol

7. Xtremekillr macrumors member

try hitting f9 it lets u see all your windows.

8. ruckus macrumors regular

ruckus

Sometimes windows for applications can be closed while the app is still running. Such as safari for example. You can click the red button on the upper left and that closes the safari window, but not safari. You know this because Command Tab will show safari running, plus the blue dot on the bottom. And clicking the dot will bring the menu for safari up on the top of the screen.