Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gtoddh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2011
I just got a MBP today. It came with Snow Leopard but I'm eligible for a free upgrade to Lion. I have little to no experience with OSX, basically only what I've played with a little in the Apple store and what I've read about. Should I get to know SL or should I just go ahead and upgrade to Lion and learn to use that? I'm a pretty savvy PC user and I know that early releases of all software have issues. I'm wondering if I should put in any time learning SL or not bother and just go with Lion.

Thanks,

Todd

waynep

macrumors 6502
Dec 31, 2009
Since you just bought your first Mac, I would upgrade to Lion now. Your system should still be pretty much like a fresh install of SL and therefore you will have less problems than someone who has spent years customizing things. Also learning the Lion way of things, scrolling etc, you won't have to relearn later. I went to Lion two days ago and really like it.

I was a Mac noob in January when I bought mine. I am in my late 40's and had been using Windows ever since Windows existed.

I suggest going to Lion and get iWork. You'll be in good shape.

Last edited:

Steve's Barber

macrumors 6502a
Jul 5, 2011
Wayne is correct. Start using Lion now and before you get attached to any Snow Leopard habits. Some things have changed.

r0k

macrumors 68040
Mar 3, 2008
Detroit
I agree, Upgrade to Lion now.