Mac Not picking up new ram

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by LeathaLurker, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. LeathaLurker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #1
    Okay a friend just brought me their late 07 macbook that they said they had put new ram in. The only put one new stick in, the stick is 2 gigs and the old 512 stick they took out, I was looking at the computer and it was only registering 512 mbs and so I reset the PRAM, I did not have time to reseat the ram or anything but was wondering if there is anything else I could do. Is the ram perhaps incompatible, but why would it only register up to the 512 mbs?
     
  2. LeathaLurker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
  3. millerj123 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #3
    According to Apple, mid or late 2007 models came with two sticks of 512 mb stock, or two sticks of 1 Gig. Most likely you need to re-seat the new RAM.
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  5. tug macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    loughborough. u.k.
    #5
    hi, i might be wrong but i always understood that you have to put two identical sticks in. i would go and get some new ram, its really cheap right now.

    try these guys: ;)

    http://www.crucial.com/?click=true
     

Share This Page