Mac or PC iPad ?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by StBDawg, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. StBDawg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #1
    I pretty much know the answer already but I just wanted to see if anyone else had heard, will you have to chose whether to want to use a PC or Mac to load stuff on your iPad with? I have a PC desktop but a Macbook Pro that I use when I am away from home. Will it be like the iPhone and iPod where you have to chose to set it up as a Mac device or PC device? I hate having to chose which one I want to use to load stuff to it.
     
  2. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #2
    other than the Photo app having extra features like Faces and Place if you own a Mac with iLife '09, their won't be any difference in what computer you use to sync the iPad. it's all done through iTunes, which is the same on both platforms. You only need to format the iPods to Mac or PC (excluding the iPod touch), the iPhone will sync with both Mac and PC without having to reformatted.

    but to answer your question, I'll be using my MacBook.
     
  3. StBDawg thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #3
    what I am talking about is with my iPod Touch and Nano when I first set them up, I had to chose to sync with my PC or my Macbook. With my iPod Touch I chose to sync it with my PC because I use it more often. If I try to add anything to my Touch with my Macbook it detects that it was set up on a PC and it won't let me add anything. I'm trying to figure out if the iPad will be the same way. I wish you could use any computer to sync stuff using iTunes but then again that means you could take your iPod to a friends house and add all their music for free.
     
  4. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #4
    I understand what you mean, my iPod nano and Classic ask me the same question, but I've never had my iPod touch ask me that nor my iPhone. and since the iPad is based on the same iPhone software, I'm guessing it won't ask you to choose.

    as long as your just adding music, movies and podcast to your iPods, you might want to set them to 'Manually Manage' your media, that way you can add/remove items from any computer. i own an iMac, MacBook and two PC and this is what I do.
     
  5. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #5
    This is not a "Mac or PC" question, it's the same deal if you have two PCs or two Macs -- you have to pick one computer to sync your iPod/iPhone/iPad with. There is a workaround, but it's somewhat complicated and I don't recommend it unless you are fairly computer savvy.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    There's a key difference between the devices. The classic iPods (and presumably Nanos) were formatted for FAT or HFS depending on what sort of computer you originally set them up with. iPhones, Touches, and I'm 99% sure iPads all use HFS internally regardless of the host PC OS. There shouldn't be any issues with a "hybrid" computer setup.
     
  7. GadgetX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #7
    Yeah you click "Manually manage music and videos."
     
  8. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #8
    Well, there is that, too, but there is also a way to hack the iTunes library so you can sync with two computers.
     
  9. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #9
    The PC version of iTunes is a horrible buggy pile of something. It only makes sense to sync w/ Mac if you have one for the smoothest experience.
     

Share This Page