Mac OS and Windows on External SSD

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MarkieMark92, May 29, 2019.

  1. MarkieMark92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I currently have my MacOS on an external SSD using Thunderbolt and have boot camp to the Mac Harddrive. Is it possible to put the windows on another External SSD through Thunderbolt and have it boot off this? And how please? Or would I be better using USB?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Yes and no. Ms has something called Windows to Go, but its actually going away. Its a windows variant that allows you to install windows on an external drive. With the May update, I believe they're deprecating (or even rmoving) that feature.

    With an iMac, I opted to use the internal SSD for windows, external SSD for macOS and the spinning hard drive was split in two for data for both operating systems.
     
  3. trifero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #3
    its possible, but not via USB
     
  4. Chocomonsters macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #4
    If your Mac has TB3, you can just install Windows 10 directly to TB3 external drive without using Boot Camp partition. Windows installation treats TB3 as an internal drive during installation.

    If you want to use USB, I suggest you use at least USB 3.1 gen 2 external drive for faster speed.

    Easiest way to install Windows 10 on external USB drive is to pre-partition the external drive. And then using Windows Apply Image. If you need help with using Windows Apply Image, I can post how-to. I believe, there are many postings how to do this already on this forum.
     
  5. Roxy.music macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Location:
    uk
    #5
    --- Post Merged, Jun 16, 2019 at 10:40 AM ---
    Hi i am new on here.I got windows 10 on the external drive with VM Ware Fusion ,but unfourtunatly it got wiped.:(
    i have tried a number of times to put it on other SSD s with no luck ,it takes a age for all the stuff you have to get throuh
    the instalbefore it could be done it went off line :(tried the same one again and it spom for a bit and done the same thing.I have done the instal many times and know it of by heart.I don,t know why it doesn,t work.it could be something to do with my computer.I am thinking of taking it back to a earler time.
    i have tried it 3 times with T5 SSD.I am at a loss why i can,t get it on there.:(
     

Share This Page

4 May 29, 2019