Mac OS equivalent of Start->Run command in Win XP

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by arcturus, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. arcturus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys,
    Recently shifted to Mac from Win. Have been trying unsuccessfully to run commands like \\10.x.x.xx which can be done thru Start->Run in windows.
    Would appreciate any help.
    Thanx
     
  2. reclusivemonkey macrumors 6502

    reclusivemonkey

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire, UK
    #2
    You might want to check out Quicksilver. Its like Start --> Run, only with god like powers and premonition =]
     
  3. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    "Connect to server" in finder. It's in the menu bar somewhere.
     
  4. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #4
    Finder > Go > Connect to Server

    In Leopard any computers on your network should show up in the finder sidebar automatically so you could just click the icon. Thats if I understand what you are trying to do.
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    windows' start->run is not a app launcher like QS.

    For OP. What are the stuff you want to run?
     
  6. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #6
    Quicksilver is an application launcher, not a command line prompt.

    Go to Applications > Utilities > Terminal

    That's the UNIX command line prompt in OS X.
     
  7. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #7
    command K is a great shortcut for this kind of 'connect to' whatever you're doing.

    You'll probably need to type smb:// in front of it if it's a windows share.
     
  8. arcturus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #8
    got it!

    Thanx everyone!! got it thru Connect to Server and starting the url with smb
     
  9. mickndew1441 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #9
    Help.

    Ok, Now im having the same problem. I type in smb// But it does nothing when I type in the address. I dont know what Im doing wrong here. Help would greatly be appreciated.
     
  10. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    Try smb://
     
  11. pallavisriva macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #11
    trying to access VPN connection

    Hi, i normally work from home and have recently moved to Mac, i have to connect to a vpn connection and i would normally go to run in windows and enter mstsc, in the window that used to popup i would enter the machine name that i have to connect to. Obviously prior to this i am connected to the vpn through netextender but am unable to reach this particular machine, can somebody please help me with this. I have tried using smb://mstsc in Terminal and connect to server already, have also tried entering the url smb://vCRMDEV01 but no success as of now. Please let me know if anybody is unclear about the question.
     
  12. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #12
    It sounds like you're trying to connect to a Windows machine on the vpn. Have you tried using Remote Desktop Connection? It's a free download from Microsoft. It'll avoid you having to try the MSTSC (I'm assuming that's the old MS Terminal Services Client). Just connect to your vpn as you are now, then type in the machine name or IP when you start up RDC. It's pretty simple.
     

Share This Page