Mac OS on SP 4?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by peterpan123, Nov 8, 2015.

  1. peterpan123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #1
    Hello, on youtube, there are videos of Mac OS running on the Surface PRO with touch screen and pen drawing working! Has any of you succeed in doing that? What is the experience? Give that some users have succeed in installing MAC OS on SP3, I guess it may be possible to do it on the SP4.
     
  2. spinedoc77 macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #2
    I tried it back on my surface pro 2 a while ago, worked pretty decently although the touch screen didn't work. It's very involved to get it working and I haven't looked into it in a couple of years. Do some Google searching, there are some great Hackintosh forums out there.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    It might be a bit more difficult since Apple doesn't have a full range of skylake processors yet so there may be issues with kexts. I have read reports of people doing that on the SP3. I'm actually curious in how OS X would function on that form factor.
     
  4. peterpan123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #4
    From this video, it seems good !!!
     
  5. Renzatic Suspended

    Renzatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Location:
    Gramps, what the hell am I paying you for?
    #5
    That is pretty damn impressive.

    The only concern I have is that's the original SP, which uses standard Wacom tech already available and ready to go on OSX. I don't know if the pen will work as well (or at all) on OSX on the SP3/4, because the N-Trig tech they use there probably doesn't have drivers available. It'd probably require someone to homebrew their own to get it working.
     
  6. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #6
    http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/304796-guide-1010-on-the-surface-pro-3/ might interest you. It seems a lot of things are not yet working but they do have a preliminary touch screen support which is very impressive! Otherwise it seems like a lot of the usual problems with Hackintosh builds like having the wrong WiFi component so no drivers and not being able to get the system to sleep.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Mildly tempted, just for giggles but I think overall the headaches of the hackintosh out weigh any perceived benefits :)

    I've built a hackintosh before and I don't think I want to go through the hassle of dealing with kexts, wifi issues and problems with sleep, all of which I had gone through.
     
  8. spinedoc77 macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #8
    I still have my hackintosh on a hard drive in my main PC, but haven't booted it in ages. It's a hell of a lot of work, but was fun at a time in my life where I had more free time.
     

Share This Page