Mac OS X 10.0 for PowerMac G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by auptimus, Jul 5, 2014.

  1. auptimus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    Hi,
    Can I install Mac OS X 10.0 on a PowerMac G5? Actually it has Mac OS X 10.5.8, but a buyer wants to put Mac OS 10.0 to use older programs.
    Peace,
    Optimus.
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    Not possible. G5s shipped variously with 10.2.x, 10.3.x, or 10.4.x, depending on configuration.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2191
    A G4 Digital Audio or Quicksilver will be the newest that can run 10.0.x.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    No, the earliest version of Mac OS X that the oldest G5's can run is Mac OS X 10.2.7.
     
  4. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #4
    What are those programs that require the first Mac OS X that Leopard cannot run?
     
  5. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #5
    Mac OS X 10.0 for Powermac G5

    Hi guys,
    Thanks for your quick responses. McGiord, I don't know what programs the buyer wants to install. He did not tell me. They should work with Mac OS X 10.2.x. Waiting for him to tell me what programs he wants to install.
    Peace
    Optimus
     
  6. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #6
    But if it is a 2005 PowerMac G5 for example, he won't be able to install 10.2.7
     
  7. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #7
    Mac OS X 10.0 for PowerMac G5

    McGiord, I just got a message from the buyer. He said that the program in question he wants to use is QuarkXpress 4.0. Will that work on 10.5.8?
    Thanks
    Optimus
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Oh, LOL!!! Very funny. Your buyer has no clue!!!

    I've been in Graphic Design for the newspaper industry since 1999. Started on XPress 4.04. So, here's some things your buyer should know.

    1. QuarkXPress 3/4/5 are OS9 ONLY!!!! *Note XPress 5 being OS9 only is the MAJOR reason InDesign gained market share. Many, many designers were angry at Quark and defected.
    2. No G5 in existence can run OS9.
    3. Most G5s cannont go below 10.3.x.

    If your buyer NEEDS to run XPress 4.04 he's going to need to stick with Panther or Tiger and use Classic. It's totally possible, I did it for a few years until we got XPress 6 which is the first version that is OS X compatible. But there are a few issues with running XPress 4.x in Classic. Namely screen refresh. There were a few XTensions that handled that (I've got one somewhere) and if the buyer uses a font manager, such as Suitcase he'd be looking at Suitcase 10 or X1. Suitcase 9 and below are OS9 only.

    Honestly, your buyer sounds like one of those anti-tech people that are trying to hold out on really old apps. The last version of XPress that will run on a PowerPC Mac will be XPress 8.x. The customer should just bite the bullet and upgrade.

    Lastly, if the customer has any specific issues or concerns about XPress and Macs, tell him to go here. He can ask questions over there and get specific answers.
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    A quick google for system requirements for QE 4.1 shows Mac OS 9, no OS X support until QE 6 (?)
    OS X 10.0 - even if you could get it installed, would likely be completely unusable for QE 4. You'd need something newer, probably 10.4 (Tiger) would be a good choice, because it allows you to use the OS X printer drivers while in the Classic environment - where you would use QE4.

    I don't remember if QE 4 even will work at all in Classic. I don't find anything now about that working, or not working.
    You may need a Mac that can boot natively into OS 9 (and the G5 certainly can't do that.)
     
  10. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #10
    Mac OS X 10.0 for PowerMac G5

    That's true. I found out that this buyer has no clue about computers and software. Thanks a lot for your help. I will put QX 6.
    Peace,
    Optimus
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    It'll work. It's just a PITA having to refresh the screen all the time. And fonts get really tricky. You need XPress 10 or X1 to pass activated fonts off the Classic. I ended up just dumping all the fonts I needed into the Classic system fonts folder just because I had issues. It's a mess because you're trying to work in two systems at once.

    Then you have to consider that XPress 4 does not have native PDF export, PDF import or well…a lot of stuff that people consider standard now.

    XPress 6 was the first OS X version and it's PDF support was dismal.

    ----------

    That's actually probably best. They changed the GUI in 8.x and the buyer would probably just be confused by they way the tools are laid out now.

    Additionally, all the Intel optimizations they made for version 8.x had a negative impact on 8.x on PowerPC. XPress 8.x can't handle large columns of small text because it's constantly trying to redraw the text anytime a change is made, even if that text is offscreen.

    XPress 6.x though has it's own downsides. But overall, it's probably the best version here. I don't suggest 7.x because they went Universal at 7.1 or so and the early point versions are buggy.
     
  12. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #12
    Mac OS X 10.0 for PowerMac G5

    If this buyer was using QX4, he must be fine using QX6. Or I will try to put at least QX8. I don't know much about Mac computers. I am a PC geek, but not Macs. Just trying to get rid of this G5.
    Thanks,
    Optimus.
     
  13. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #13
    On #2, a G5 can run OS 9 through the Classic emulation layer in 10.4 and below. That being said, there are some apps that will not run under Classic and others that act so goofy that we have no reason to run that program. It will not directly boot into OS 9, but it does stand a chance of running an app through Classic.

    On #3, the original PowerMac G5 (PowerMac 7,2 project name Omega or Q37) ran a highly specific 10.2.7 build. So it's one model, making it nearly all G5's to me instead of most. ;) If you can find the restore disc, you CAN run 10.2 on that model. Is there really a reason to run it when you have 10.4, though?
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14
    OK, I'll dance with you on this one, LOL!

    #2 - You are right. A G5 will run Classic under Tiger or earlier. That's why I was specific when I said OS9 originally, and not Classic. Because, as you also mentioned, a G5 cannot boot OS9.

    #3 - I was unaware of that, in the sense that it was modified. I got one job in July 2003 where the owner bought one of the first G5s, the 1.6Ghz model. It came with the OS you describe, Jaguar. But by 2004 most of the G5s for sale were running Panther. Which is why I used the word most. I would be piled on by all the denizens here for saying "all". :D

    Personally, the best load out here if you are going to stay circa 2003-2004 would be Panther and QuarkXPress 6 with Photoshop 7, Acrobat Pro 6 and Illustrator 10. That's what I was running in 2003-2008 and it worked very well.
     
  15. MysticCow, Jul 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2014

    MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #15
    Yes, iirc and if I'm reading Mactracker correctly, the original G5 tower had a modified 10.2 on it. All the other G5's shipped with 10.3. There is probably a way to get that specific 10.2 build to run on any G5, but I don't exactly know how and probably don't want to (again, due to 10.4 running the Classic layer also).
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    That special build of 10.2.7 will only run on the machine it shipped on. It won't run on any other G5 system.
     

Share This Page