Mac OS X 10.6.4 JPG screenshot by default?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by seanooi, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. seanooi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #1
    Is something going nuts with my system or did the 10.6.4 update changed the default screen capture format to JPG instead of PNG?
     
  2. Nugget macrumors 68000

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #2
    10.6.4 didn't change it but it is a setting that can be changed.

    More info here.
     
  3. advres Guest

    advres

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    To change default format for screencap images, in Terminal.app, type:
    defaults write com.apple.screencapture type png (or whatever type you want)​
    To change default folder for screencap images, in Terminal.app, type:
    defaults write com.apple.screencapture location "/Users/username/Desktop/screecaps" (or whatever location you want)​
     
  6. freakqnc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #6
    The PrefPane 1.0.6 (10.5+) at http://secrets.blacktree.com/ won't help since can only control "Grab" and there are no options for screencapture system UI utility used for capture via OS shortcut

    The solution above by GGJstudios was a good pointer but the process is better illustrated on this OS X Daily where it's also specified that...
    [...]
    you must kill the SystemUIServer for changes to take effect:
    killall SystemUIServer
    [...]

    Not issuing the killall SystemUIServer in Terminal would make it look like the command that was issued creating the new default for screencapture had no effect. In fact that is incorrect since it will have effect on next restart unless killing the SystemUIServer process is done which will cause the new defaults to be picked up as soon as the screencapture will be invoked again.

    Hope this helps others who were looking to accomplish the same.

    Cheers!
    ;)
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    The Secrets preference pane does, indeed, change the default file type or folder for screen captures generated by the OS X shortcut. The killall command will work, or, as the Secrets pane suggests, a reboot will do the same.
     
  8. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #8
    You can change the default format with TinkerTool.
     

Share This Page