Mac OS X 10.7 Lion FTP Server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by blasto333, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. blasto333 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #1
    I know there is not a checkbox for it anymore, but I need an ftp server. How can I start this service and have it run after a restart?
     
  2. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    The GUI for the FTP server has been removed. Any configuration will have to be made via the terminal.
    It is still there, /usr/libexec/ftpd and in terminal type man ftpd for configuration help.
     
  3. blasto333 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #3
    I know this, but does anyone know how to configure this?
     
  4. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    Besides reading the man page? I don't use a FTP server sorry, but the configurations are the same just minus the GUI.
     
  5. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #5
    Google and the man page will give you enough info if you want to use it. If you need FTPd I'd recommend pureftpd instead anyway.

    Also you should most likely shift into SFTP which is Apple's preferred replacement and enabled with remote login.
     
  6. blasto333 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
  7. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Can someone help me out? I am very new to this and have no idea what to do.
    I want to make my Mac into an SFTP server so that another computer on a different network can use a client like FileZilla or something to access the files on my computer. Can someone please walk me through this?

    If that is not possible, can you tell me how I would make my router (it gives option to connect a hard drive to it) into an SFTP server?
     
  8. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Your best best bet is to Google SFTP server and install one. Sounds like easy way out , but it is probably the easiest way.
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    SFTP is enabled just by checking the Remote Login box.
     
  10. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    It says "Remote Login lets users of other computers access this computer using SSH." How would I set up SSH (not sure what it means) and since my external IP is different than internal - do I need to do something?
    What I really want is what iChat does: Right click ––> Screen Share --> Voila
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    If all you want is Screen Sharing, just check the Screen Share check box. iChat will take care of everything else.
     
  12. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    I'm sorry I am a little confused. I am able to do screen sharing with another buddy on iChat if they are also running iChat. I currently do not have screen sharing checked. If I check it it says other computers can access [blah blah blah] at vnc://xx.xxx.xx (where x represents my ip address). Here is where I am confused: when i put this ip address (which happens to begin with 192 so I am assuming it is internal ip address) in another computers browser followed by vnc:// it pops a screen asking for login and gets stuck there. As far as I understand, this will work in the same network as my computer. How do I get this to work from anywhere in the world?
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    You'll need to check the Screen Sharing box and the VNC box that further in its settings. Then you'll have to forward port 5900 to your Mac's internal IP address with on your router. Then connect via your external IP at EXTERNAL_IP:5900
     
  14. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Okay I was hoping not to mess with the router but I guess I have no choice. Thanks a lot for the info, I really appreciate it!
    By connect with external IP, do you mean (assuming ip is 123:45:789):
    vnc://123:45:789:5900?
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Yes
     
  16. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Great, thanks a lot for the help :)
     
  17. Therbo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #17
  18. r0k, Aug 13, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011

    r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #18

Share This Page