Mac OS X Forums naming

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by flopticalcube, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #1
    Why are the OS X Forums naming conventions so different?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  3. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I believe it is because Apple stopped branding their operating system as 'Mac OS X' in favour of just 'OS X'. And I'm now assuming they're attempting to phase out version numbering before they hit either OS 11 or 10.10.
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    The official MacRumors reason for this is that Apple isn't using the number in the branding of OS X, nor are they using 'Mac' as a part of it either. This is why 'Mac' isn't part of the forum name and why '10.9' is in parentheses.
     
  5. Ddyracer macrumors 68000

    Ddyracer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #5
    They didn't use the numbers publicly in 10.8. 10.9 really doesn't need to be in parentheses.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Apple doesn't even say 10.9 in their literature for Mavericks now, so the parenthesis is just to say it's version 10.9
     
  7. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #7
    It should read:

    OS X Mavericks (10.9)
    OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)
    Mac OS X Lion (10.7)


    annoys the heckins out of me each time i see it :)
     
  8. yanki01 macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
  9. djtech42 macrumors 65816

    djtech42

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Location:
    West Chester, OH
    #9
    I agree with the Mac OS X/OS X thing, but I think the version numbers should always be in parentheses.
     

Share This Page